Workflow Settings

    When working with Umbraco Plumber, you can handle the workflow settings directly in the Backoffice from the Workflow section. You can configure general workflow settings, new node approval flows, Document type approval flows, and exclude nodes.

    Workflow settings

    General Settings

    You can configure the General Settings from the Workflow section in the Settings menu. The following settings are available:

    General settings

    • Flow type - Determines the approval flow progress. These options manage how the Change Author is included in the workflow:
      • Explicit - All steps of the workflow must be completed and all users will be notified of tasks (including the Change Author).
      • Implicit - All steps where the original Change Author is NOT a member of the group must be completed. Steps where the original Change Author is a member of the approving group will be completed automatically and noted in the workflow history as not required.
      • Exclude - Similar to Explicit. All steps must be completed but the original Change Author is not included in the notifications or shown in the dashboard tasks.
    • Lock active content - Determines how the content in a workflow should be managed. Set to true or false depending on whether the approval group responsible for the active workflow step should make modifications to the content.
    • Allow attachments - Provide an attachment (such as a supporting document or enable referencing a media item) when initiating a workflow. This feature is useful when a workflow requires supporting documentation.
    • Use workflow for unpublish - Determines if unpublish actions require workflow approval.
    • Extend permissions - Determines if Umbraco Plumber should extend or replace the users' save and publish permissions. The default behavior is to replace the users' permissions.

    New node approval flow

    All new nodes use this workflow for initial publishing. You can add, edit, or remove an approval group to/from the workflow.

    To add an approval group to the workflow:

    1. Go to the Workflow section.

    2. Go to the General tab in the Settings menu.

    3. Click Add in the New node approval flow section. New-node-approval-flow

    4. Select an approval group to add to the workflow. Add New-node-approval-flow

    5. Click Submit.

    6. Click Save Settings.

    When you click on the Edit approval group, you are presented with different configuration options for that group. For more information on the approval group settings, see the Settings section in the Approval Groups article.

    Document type approval flows

    Configure default workflows that should be applied to all content nodes of the selected Document Type. This feature requires a license.

    To add a Document type approval flow:

    1. Go to the Workflow section.

    2. Go to the General tab in the Settings menu.

    3. Click Add in the Document type approval flows section. Doc-Type-approval-flow

    4. Select a Document type from the drop-down list. Add New-node-approval-flow

    5. Select a Language from the drop-down list.

    6. Add workflow approval groups in the Current flow process.

    7. Click Add condition to add a condition to the workflow process. Add Doc-Type-approval-flow settings

    8. Click Submit.

    9. Click Save Settings.

    To edit a Document type approval flow:

    1. Go to the Workflow section.

    2. Go to the General tab in the Settings menu.

    3. Click Edit next to the content node in the Document type approval flows section. Edit Doc-Type-approval-flow

    4. Select a Language from the drop-down list.

    5. Add, Edit, or Remove approval groups from the current workflow.

    6. Click Add condition to add a condition to the workflow process. Edit Doc-Type-approval-flow settings

    7. Click Submit.

    8. Click Save Settings.

    Exclude nodes

    Nodes and their descendants selected here are excluded from the workflow process and will be published as per the configured Umbraco user permissions. This feature requires a license.

    To exclude a node from the workflow process:

    1. Go to the Workflow section.

    2. Go to the General tab in the Settings menu.

    3. Click Add in the Exclude nodes section. Excliude Nodes

    4. Select the Content node from the Content tree. Select content node

    5. Click Submit.

    6. Click Save Settings.