There are eight default sections that come with Umbraco:


    The content section contains the content of the website. Content is displayed as nodes in the content tree. In order to create content you must define it using document types.


    The Media section contains the media for the website. By default you can create folders and upload media files (images and PDFs). You can customize the existing media types or define your own in the Settings section.


    The Settings section is where you can work with the website layout, language/localization and define media and content. The Settings tree consists of:

    • Document Types
    • Templates (.cshtml files)
    • Partial views (.cshtml files)
    • Stylesheets (.css files)
    • Scripts (.js files)
    • Languages
    • Dictionary
    • Media Types


    In the developer section you work with packages, data types, macros, relations, XSLT and Razor files. The developer tree consists of:

    • Packages
    • Data Types
    • Macros
    • Relation Types
    • XSLT files
    • Partial View Macro Files


    Manage, create and customize members.


    Manage, create and customize backoffice users.


    You can install Umbraco Forms directly from the backoffice by clicking the install button. Once installed this section is where you create and manage your forms.


    When the help section is opened you get a link to video tutorials about the section you're in.

    More information