We have moved!
You are currently looking at documentation for Umbraco 8 and older versions.
Go to docs.umbraco.com for documentation for Umbraco 9 and newer versions.
Deploying between Cloud environments
When you are working directly on your Development environment, any changes you make through the Backoffice will automatically be identified and committed to the site's Git repository. This includes Umbraco-specific items like Document types and templates.
Changes made on your Cloud environments will show up in the Umbraco Cloud portal, where you will be able to see what files have been added/changed and by whom the changes were made.
To deploy metadata changes from one Cloud environment to another, click the 'Deploy changes to ..' button on the environment where the changes have been made. The deployment will kick in, and you can follow the process in the Activity Log by clicking on View Details at the bottom of the Cloud portal.
Once it's done, the changes will be deployed to the next Cloud environment. If you have more Cloud environments, follow the same procedure to deploy the changes up to your Live site.
When you deploy from i.e. your Development environment to your Live environment, any changes made to the Live environment will be merged back into the Development environment.
Here are the auto-magical steps Umbraco Cloud goes through when you hit the "Deploy changes to .." button:
- Before pushing your changes from the source environment, the engine running Umbraco Cloud - Umbraco Deploy - looks for changes in the repository on the target environment
- If changes are found, Umbraco Deploy merges the changes from the target environment into the repository on the source environment.
- After the merge, the changes from the source environment are pushed to the repository on the target environment.
- Finally, the changes pushed to the target repository are extracted to the site, and you will now see your changes reflected in the Backoffice and on the Frontend.
If you have more than one Umbraco Cloud environment, we strongly recommend that you only make changes to metadata on the Development environment. Making changes directly on your Staging and/or Live environments can cause merge conflicts when you deploy from your Development environment.
Refer to our troubleshooting documentation about how to resolve collision errors, if you should run into issues while deploying between your Umbraco Cloud environments.