Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tega McKinney 3 posts 23 karma points
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 02:51
    Tega McKinney

Configuration Error: Could not load file or assembly 'UrlRewritingNet.UrlRewriter' or one of its dependencies.

I have just installed Umbraco 4.0.2.1 on Windows 7 with IIS7.  I have ensured Network Service has Full Rights to all folders and that umbraco is running under the Classic App Pool.  Installation ran perfectly, however when trying to access umbraco, I get a configuration error.  I am running asp.net 3.5 and I have used the asp.net 3.5 webconfig file from the codeplex website.

Any help resolving this would be greatly appreciated.  This is my first attempt at installing Umbraco and I used the Web PI as recommended.

Thanks in advance.

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5044 posts 15475 karma points MVP admin hq
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 09:48
    Sebastiaan Janssen

Change your app pool to run Integrated Pipeline instead and it should work. Also make sure that the app pool is actually running as the network service user, not as the AppPoolIdentity.

Nov 27, 2009 @ 17:33
    Tega McKinney

I performed the steps above and now I actually get a stack trace of it not being able to load the file or assembly.  The stack trace is below.  What else could be causing it not to load this assembly?  Thanks in advance for your help.

[FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'UrlRewritingNet.UrlRewriter' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.]
    System.RuntimeTypeHandle._GetTypeByName(String name, Boolean throwOnError, Boolean ignoreCase, Boolean reflectionOnly, StackCrawlMark& stackMark, Boolean loadTypeFromPartialName) +0
    System.RuntimeTypeHandle.GetTypeByName(String name, Boolean throwOnError, Boolean ignoreCase, Boolean reflectionOnly, StackCrawlMark& stackMark) +64