Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Angelo Ryndon 6 posts 115 karma points
    Feb 01, 2018 @ 05:15
    Angelo Ryndon

7.7.9 Starter Website - Featured Products/Featured People Data type not working as intended?

Hello Everyone!

I'm just learning to use Umbraco. I am able to reproduce what seems to be a bug on the starter website - version 7.7.9.

I installed umbraco on VS2017 nuget Used IIS 10 and the database is on MS SQL Server 2016

Steps to reproduce -

1. Install umbraco using Nuget, build project, create database on sql server, add an IIS website.
    2. Go to the website, Do initial setup of Umbraco. use the starter site.
    3. In the backoffice, delete the Products or People Page in the Content tab.
    4. Create a new Products or People Page from the Content tab.
    5. Go to Featured Products/People and click Add
    6. You won't see anything relevant on the search box(a product or person).

When I go and edit the Data Type to be Node type = Media, then select Products for Featured Products or People for Featured People something would show up on the search box and you can add a product or a person, which makes sense to me as a first time user.

It will fail on run time though as the Node type in the back office points to a concrete type in c#? and the program wants a Content Type and not Image Type.

My Question is, is Featured Product/People in the starter site just broken at the moment? am I missing something or is this something that should be altered from the backend only?

I wanted to play around first and add/delete a Products/People page as an editor to get a feel of the CMS.

Thanks in advance!

• Kevin Jump 2310 posts 14695 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Feb 02, 2018 @ 10:53
    Kevin Jump

Hi

I wrote a bit explanaition (below) - about a bit of it, but you are right the starter kit is a bit broken :