Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ívar Oddsson 9 posts 100 karma points
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 14:25
    Ívar Oddsson

Contributing: Initial Umbraco setup.

Hello.

I wanted to start contributing to the Umbraco CMS and I'm running into some trouble setting up the project. These are the steps I took to get the source code and where I got stuck.

1. Forked https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS.
    2. Cloned the repo.
    3. Ran /build/Build.bat
    4. Built and ran the project.

The page doesn't load correctly, what I'm getting is this: The issue I'm having with initial umbraco setup

Anybody know what's wrong? I'm really new to Umbraco so this might be something supremely simple :)

• Damiaan 442 posts 1301 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 21:56
    Damiaan

Do you want to work with umbraco or do you really want to contribute?

If you want to work with umbraco, check the getting started section of the documentation.

If you want to contribute, check out the "contribute" section.

Jun 18, 2016 @ 22:32
    Ívar Oddsson

I'm already working with Umbraco and I was inspired by this years Codegarden to start contributing :) I followed the instructions on the contribute site but am not having any success, unfortunately, because of this issue.

• Aaron Powell 1708 posts 3046 karma points c-trib
    Jun 19, 2016 @ 00:39
    Aaron Powell

My guess is there's a JS error being thrown, can you check your dev tool console to see if there's an errors?

Also are you using the dev-v7 branch or another branch?

Jun 19, 2016 @ 01:29
    Aaron Powell

Just done a clean clone of dev-v7 and can repo the above, it seems the JS isn't being generated properly. Having a look into it.

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jun 19, 2016 @ 08:58
    Sebastiaan Janssen