Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Anders Bjerner 487 posts 2989 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2019 @ 18:26
    Anders Bjerner

Proposal for package.manifest templates

As a package developer, I may have a package that provides a grid editor, a dashboard or something similar.

I typically opt not to include grid editors in the package.manifest files of my packages, but instead describe how to add a grid editor in the readme file of the repository of the package instead - eg. as done here:

https://github.com/skybrud/Skybrud.LinkPicker#using-the-grid-editor

One of the reasons for doing this is can there can be multiple configurations of a grid editor (based on the config property in the JSON). If I provided one in my package, it may not have the exact configuration as the user needs - and any changes made to the grid editor configuration in the package.manifest file of my package may eventually be overridden if my package is later updated. So the way I see it, it may be an inconvenience for the end user/developer if the grid editor is defined in the package.manifest file of my package.

So to get around this, my proposal is to introduce what I'm calling grid editor templates. My package.manifest file will then define a template for the grid editor instead.

Alone, a template will not really do anything, and developers will have to open my package.manifest file and copy the template to another package.manifest file. This is one of the reasons I released a package for editing package.manifest files:

https://github.com/abjerner/Skybrud.Umbraco.PackageManifests

The package lets you manage all package.manifest files of your Umbraco solution, and as part of this you can add a new grid editor based on one of the templates.