Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Pickels 75 posts 108 karma points
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 18:32
    Pickels

XSLT vs Python

Hello,

I am new to Umbraco and I just started working with macros. I noticed you can write macros in XSLT or IronPython(or Ruby). Since I already know Python I thought I would just use that instead of XSLT.

But now I notice that most examples I see are using XSLT. Is there something wrong with using Python? I read a few old posts that say the implementation isn't that great. Is that still the case or are most Umbraco users just used to XSLT?

XSLT doens't really look hard but it sure looks ugly. If you compare the two: http://twitpic.com/29grzy (Python) vs http://twitpic.com/29grrb (XSLT). Python looks a lot more concise than XSLT. This got me suspicious that there might be something horribly wrong with Python in Umbraco.

• Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 18:49
    Warren Buckley

Hi Pickels,
    For me personally I have being using Umbraco for quite a while now and Python was not around when I first started so it was .NET and XSLT, in addition to coming from a front end designer/developer background XSLT and XML was similar to XHTML in sense of closing and starting tags and was easier to understand coming from a non technical/developer background.

In addition the content cache is stored in an XML file so it just made sense to work with XSLT.

However there is nothing wrong in using Python, it is not as popular within the community but as far as I know there is nothing wrong with the Python implemetnation in Umbraco.

I think what ever route you decide to use is down to personal preferance and the task at hand.

Warren

Jul 28, 2010 @ 18:59
    Pickels

That's good to hear. What's even better to hear is that we got all these options when working with Umbraco.

• Geoff Lawson 5 posts 25 karma points