Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ronnie Overby 14 posts 37 karma points
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:16
    Ronnie Overby

About to give up on Umbraco

I hate to say it, but my frustration with Umbraco is starting to get the best of me. I love the concepts in Umbraco, but I feel like working with it is like walking through a minefield.

I've been working on my first Umbraco site for a few months now, on the weekends (thankfully a very relaxed timeline). Everytime I come back to it, I end up spending days resolving issues and never getting any real work done. Specifically, upgrading never goes smoothly, medium trust environments are difficult to work in, and most recently I'm failing to get Razor to do what I want it to do.

Now, I'm not trying to get solutions to these specific problems in this topic, nor am I trying to rant. I realize that I may be defiling my abilities by stating what difficulties I've had getting Umbraco going, but the truth is that I am a capable and accomplished .NET web developer and getting umbraco going has been very difficult.

The purpose of this topic is to reach out to those who have had great success with Umbraco. It would be nice for someone to acknowledge the issues that I am having, let me know I'm not alone, and give me some reasons not to move to another proven CMS.