Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Patrik 10 posts 30 karma points
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 23:44
    Patrik

Let me decide the URL structure myself, please?

Not sure if this is the right forum, but I'll go ahead anyways...

I'm a brand-spankin' new user of Umbraco. So far, it's a treat compared to everything else I've tried. However, there is one thing that bugs the crap out of me. And that's the inability to determine the URL's of things myself.

The real problem I have is that I have an entire site created in Dreamweaver. I have a master CSS file which contains about 200 differenent references of images (alot of these are sprites that are repeated, but still). All of these images have a defined, static URL such as " /_iface/obj/whatever.png ". Now, when deciding to try Umbraco I thought - naive that I am - that I could create the folder structure I wanted in the Media section and all my links would work. Sadly, that's not the case.

Now, I have 200 or so image references to change, and I haven't even gotten to the xHTML yet!

As if that wasn't enough, all my pages are now structured like /services.aspx and /engineering.aspx, when it in fact should be /services/ and /services/engineering.aspx or similar. Anyone working actively with SEO as I am, knows that the folder'ed structure is a whole lot better as far as Google is concerned.

And, I see problems in the future:

• When inserting 10 or so new images in my CSS, I'll have to upload through the Desktop Uploader, browse to each and every file in the tree, and copy/paste the URL's into my CSS code. Now, if anything was ever a hassle, that'd be it.
    • I'm planning on implementing prettyPhoto by No-Margin-for-Errors, and it has about 150 lines of CSS. Almost all of them contain image links. That's another job I'm not looking forward to in Umbraco.