Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Garry Bain 149 posts 124 karma points
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 12:31
    Garry Bain
    0

    Can you put logic (if, else etc) into Templates?

    Hi everyone,

    I currently have a macro that is contained in my main template - however, I'd like to only display this Macro if the current page belongs to a normal "TextPage" doc type. As opposed to showing it on "News Items", "Blog Posts" and so on. Is there any sort of logic I can add to my template to say:

    if textpage { show the macro }

    Or is this done via XSLT only? If it is XSLT only - does anyone have any articles that contains any code for this?

    Cheers,
    Garry.

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 12:37
    Ismail Mayat
    1

    Garry,

    If your template add the following

    <%@ Import Namespace="umbraco.presentation.nodeFactory" %>

      <script runat="server">

        Node current=null;

        void Page_Load(){

            current=Node.GetCurrent();

           

        }

      </script>

     

    then further down where you want to show the macro

     <%if(current.NodeTypeAlias=="TextPage"){%>

              <umbraco:Macro startingLevel="2" recurse="1" selectBranches="1" 

          maxMenuDepth="2" ulBaseClass="" branchClass="branch" 

          selectedClass="selected" forceNode="" expandChildren="1" 

          forceHome="0" securityTrimming="1" Alias="[COG]Navigation" runat="server">

      </umbraco:Macro>

         <%}

     

    obviously replace the macro code with your macro.

    Regards

     

    Ismail

     

     

  • Garry Bain 149 posts 124 karma points
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 15:04
    Garry Bain
    0

    unfortunately not having any luck with the above code. I have added it to the template but when I refresh the website page it is just showing the code as text in the page.  I am having to use Umbraco version 3.0 due to client development restrictions, so I wonder if the styntx is incompatible with this earlier version of umbraco?

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 16:00
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Ah you may have a problem then as i think the old v3 templates are not .net master page templates.

  • Garry Bain 149 posts 124 karma points
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 17:55
    Garry Bain
    0

    ok thanks Ismail, we sorted it by just using some different templates for our different doc types - thanks for the help!

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies