Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sher 42 posts 62 karma points
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 15:01
    Sher

How can i open umbraco database in Sql Server Management Studio 2008 R2

Hi All,

I am new to umbraco and i should be very simple, can anyone tell me how can i open  open umbraco database in Sql Server Management Studio 2008 R2,

Thanks in Advance

Sher

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 15:21
    Dirk De Grave

Hi,

If you use the username/password combination you've used to install umbraco to open the umbraco database in sql mgmt studion 2008 R2. Be aware that you need sql authentication.

Of course, if you happen to know the sa password on the sql server, that's fine too. 

Also, if your windows login is member of the sql admin group, you can also use windows authentication to find and open the umbraco database in sql mgmt studio

Cheers,

/Dirk

Jan 05, 2012 @ 05:57
    Sher

Hi Dirk,

Thanks for the reply i tried that but an error is coming

"This is not a valid SQL Server Compact Database file or this file version is not supported by current SQL Server Compact Engine."

can you please guide me through,  i am trying to open the Umbraco.sdf in APP_DATA folder of my project.

Thanks in Advance,

Sher

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 09:20
    Dirk De Grave

Aha, now I have some more info on what type of db. If you're using just Sql CE, you can open up your database in vs.net (I have tried to open it up in sql server mgmt studio, but did get the same errors).

But, you need to install something before you can do that...