Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ciwan 39 posts 69 karma points
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 17:18
    Ciwan

JavaScript Sliders

Hello Friends

I am very new to Umbraco, and have just finished watching the video on Document Types, pretty powerful stuff.

However I am a little confused on how I can use Document Types to achieve a Content Managed JavaScript/jQuery Slider.

I know that I can setup a property on my homepage Document Type called [ jQuery Slider ] and bang all my code in there, but that isn't really Content Management, that is still coding, but doing it via the Umbraco Amdin Panel.

To the vetrans among you, the solution might be obvious, but please bear in mind I am very new to Umbraco, and would greatly appreciate some links, steps, clear explanations ... etc

Thank You.

Ciwan

• Grant Thomas 291 posts 324 karma points
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 23:29
    Grant Thomas

First things first: Umbraco has undergone some fundamental changes through its release and stating your version is necessary (at least to provide any practical solution, or not waste the time of others if they provide one for the 'wrong' version.) Also, please define what you mean by 'slider'? Do you mean an image gallery slider-type-thingy?

Other than that there is at lease some general advice to give on this topic...

Okay, so allowing code to be content managed is a terrible idea, don't ever do this. For even if you don't have much trouble getting it out the way you want it, if a user has access to it they will eventually break it, to be sure (and it won't be their fault!) - disaster waiting to happen. Also, code has a proper place, and that's under the 'Developer' and 'Settings' tabs. Much of the code will just be laid out as you would normally construct a website, the only difference being using Umbraco's own programming model somewhere in between (to generate final output.)