Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Uranday 32 posts 53 karma points
    May 02, 2012 @ 18:34
    Uranday

Newbie, learning Umbraco 4 or 5.

Hi

I'm a freelancer and umbraco newbie. Currently most of my development work is in MVC 3. In the recent past I did a month of maintenance work on an Umbraco 4 project. I liked it and want to learn more about it. I started off with Umbraco 5, because of the mvc usage. Though it is a bit doable I now notice that there is a lack of documentation and components. Therefor I was wondering would it be advisable at the current point in time to start digging deeper in Umbraco 5 or take the save route, learn 4 and upgrade the knowledge to 5 later on. (btw, beside an Umbraco newbie I'm also an CMS newbie.)

Regards,
    Patrick

May 06, 2012 @ 10:26
    Uranday

Is there already an eta for umbraco.tv for v5? I really want to invest time in learning umbraco but it feels a waste to start with v4.latest.

Regards
    Patrick 

• Anthony Candaele 1197 posts 2049 karma points
    May 06, 2012 @ 13:36
    Anthony Candaele

Hi Patrick,

A revamped umbraco.tv with video tutorials for V5 is in the making. There is also lot's of work put into documentation for V5

To make a production website in V5 I would wait at least untill V5.2, which is anounced for the same time Code Garden 12 is taking place (june).

On the Dutch Umbraco Festival 2012, Neils announced for may 2012 version 4.8 for the V4 series, a version he called 'the ultimate version of V4'. You can read all about it on my blog post about Neils' keynote on the Dutch Umbraco Festival 2012

greetings,

Anthony

May 06, 2012 @ 14:22
    Uranday

HI Anthony,

Does this mean that in your opinion it is better to now jump in Umbraco 4 and then upgrade my knowledge later to umbraco 5?

Regards,
    Patrick

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 06, 2012 @ 15:09