Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chris Keyes 6 posts 26 karma points
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 13:04
    Chris Keyes

Umbraco hosting and website release strategy How do you do it?

Hi All,

I’ve been looking around for more information over the past few months hopefully there are some people in a similar role out there who may be able to offer some further input.

Firstly I’m a member of the Infrastructure team. I work with servers, hosting, and similar, so I’m not a developer and I don’t really have an in-depth understanding of how Umbraco works under the covers. I do however work with a team of Umbraco developers and over the last year have had growing exposure to Umbraco.

Another feature of my role is to deploy updates to our site(s). These can be Umbraco code base updates, package updates, custom code updates and content updates. As the site is a work in progress and is expected to remain so for many years this is hopefully something that can be done regularly.

The question I have for people is how do you do it?

How are others releasing updates, changes, and functionality to their live sites?

Does everyone go offline for the duration or are there other tricks and techniques in use?

How about releasing to multiple servers in a load balanced cluster?

Is anyone using automation to push updates automatically to their live environment?

It has been suggested that we release to an ‘offline’ copy of the site, switching round the content and the database during the release-go-live phase, this is something we are considering but is this the best compromise? With a site of around 5GB plus database the process of copying the site will take some time.

We have also been using Courier, though with somewhat mixed success.

We are also interested on how to simplify the process, but perhaps most of all to find out how others have things configured and how to improve what we have.