Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 09, 2013 @ 16:22
    Peter
    0

    CropUp not working maybe i'm a n00b

    Hey there 

    I'm trying to get the lovely looking CropUp running on a new development and I'm not having much luck. As far as i can see I have installed everything correctly and all is configured (it looks to work in the backoffice), but when it comes to rendering the image on the site it's just loading the image normally.

    The url of the image is generated with http://www.website.com/media/1001/imagename.jpg?mode=crop-up&cropUpAlias=banner  and it goes to the full size image.  Any ideas?

    running umb 6.0.3 and cropup 1.0b7. 

    ta.

    Peter

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 09, 2013 @ 16:29
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Peter

    Could you show us what your configuration file looks like? And how about the code you're using to fetch the image?

    /Jan

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 09, 2013 @ 16:34
    Peter
    0

    Hey Jan, Thanks for responding :)  Here are some bits. 

    oh. I am using Damp - which explains me passing in File to the CropUp.GetUrl Method

    <cropUp referenceWidth="800" referenceHeight="600" autoDetect="true" detectFaces="true" iis6="false" boxFaces="true" faceMargin="150" cacheCropData="true">
        <croppings>
            <add alias="thumb" name="Thumbnail" width="100" height="100" />
            <add alias="portrait" name="Portrait" width="320" height="400" />
            <add alias="banner" name="Banner" width="620" height="140" />
            <add alias="large" name="Large" width="800" height="600" />
        </croppings>
    </cropUp>
    
        dynamic images = CurrentPage.PageMainImage;
                if (images != null && images.Count > 0)
                {
                    var image = images[0];
                    var imageUrl = CropUp.GetUrl(image.File, new ImageSizeArguments { CropAlias = "large" });
                    <img src="@imageUrl" alt="@image.Alt" />
                }

    Need more? I'll happily supply.

    Peter

  • Niels Kühnel 16 posts 726 karma points
    May 10, 2013 @ 12:47
    Niels Kühnel
    0

    That should work if your image url's looks like yoursite.com/CropUp/media/bla/bla.jpg.

    Also, Is the module installed? You should have something like this in your <httpModules> and <modules> sections

    <add name="CropUpUrls" type="Eksponent.CropUp.Plugins.CleanUrls" />
    <add name="ImageResizingModule" type="ImageResizer.InterceptModule" />

     

    - Niels

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 10, 2013 @ 13:31
    Peter
    0

    Hey Niels, 

    Thanks for replying.

    I didn't have the CropUpUrls item. I now have 

          <add name="CropUpUrls" type="Eksponent.CropUp.Plugins.CleanUrls" />
          <add name="CropUpModule" type="Eksponent.CropUp.CropUpModule, Eksponent.CropUp"/>
          <add name="ImageResizingModule" type="ImageResizer.InterceptModule" />

    in both 

       <system.web>
    <httpModules>
      <system.webServer>
    <modules runAllManagedModulesForAllRequests="true">....

    Things seems to have progresses as the urls are now structured as you said, but the image generated is the main image - untouched :/

    I am sorry. I feel that i am missing something simple, but just a little confused.

  • Niels Kühnel 16 posts 726 karma points
    May 10, 2013 @ 14:31
    Niels Kühnel
    0

    What happens if you write whatever.com/CropUp/100x100/your-image-url?

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 10, 2013 @ 15:46
    Peter
    0

    oooh.. a resized 100x100 :) so. something wrong in my config ? 

  • Niels Kühnel 16 posts 726 karma points
    May 10, 2013 @ 16:31
    Niels Kühnel
    0

    Maybe. If you write CropUp/large/your-image url is the image then 800x600 (or smaller)?

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 10, 2013 @ 17:00
    Peter
    0

    I have uploaded another just to make sure i have the details right for you (and hope that it was fixed :) but unfortunatly not).

    I uploaded an image (sam-and-peter_1200x.jpg) which is 1200x675

    /CropUp/large/media/1008/sam-and-peter_1200x.jpg loads the full size image of 1200x675 instead of the 800x600 which is specified in the config.

    Here are the web.config refs

    <configSections>
    ....
    <section name="cropUp" type="Eksponent.CropUp.Config.CropUpSection, Eksponent.CropUp" />
    ..... 
    </configSections> 
    <cropUp configSource="config\Eksponent.CropUp.config" />

    Then the config file is in a post earlier in the thread.

    thanks for the help Niels!

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 13, 2013 @ 18:20
    Peter
    0

    Sorry to be a pest.... any other ideas? :) 

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 14, 2013 @ 15:43
    Peter
    0

    So I have done what I was avoiding, and uninstalled the package to reinstall. Now I am in a loop trying to uninstall and reinstall (beta7) via the package installer, and I am getting a range of issues. Mainly

    System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not find file  ......\ .UmbracoMVC\App_Data\1b5de45e-af82-4d76-bef6-30dbb337ad66\Eksponent.CropUp.config'

    And then also 

    [ApplicationException:Missing the DefaultProviderRegExin the list of providers forUrlRewritingNet]

    I'll try and install manually and feedback. Currently feel I'll be going back to the standard image cropper :'(

     

    EDIT : Update.. I added the config file from the previous version of CropUp into the b7 version and it installed. now back to testing ? *touch wood* it'll just work :)

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 14, 2013 @ 15:59
    Peter
    0

    hmm...  web.config error

    Could not load type 'Eksponent.CropUp.Plugins.CleanUrls'. 

    I'm a little confused again.

    P

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 14, 2013 @ 16:07
    Peter
    100

    Ok. 

    Now the web.config has 

      <add name="CropUpUrls" type="Eksponent.CropUp.Plugins.CleanUrls" />
          <add name="CropUpModule" type="Eksponent.CropUp.CropUpModule, Eksponent.CropUp"/>
          <add name="ImageResizingModule" type="ImageResizer.InterceptModule" />

    It is running!

    So maybe it never installed properly, or i updated b3 with b7 by just updating the dlls or somehting. Anyway, if the config could be included in the package and the extra item (<add name="CropUpModule" type="Eksponent.CropUp.CropUpModule, Eksponent.CropUp"/>) added to the web.config  then BINGO!

    Hope this helps, and I look forward to getting into action with CropUp! Thanks Niels,

    /P

  • Ravi Motha 290 posts 500 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    May 14, 2013 @ 16:11
    Ravi Motha
    0

    actually I ahd a similar issue when I added the package to one of my development builds.. but since I didn't have time to look inoto it I just took out the offending config lines..

    basically it seemed to install but only seemed to partially write the updated config lines.. I was using a 4.7.11 build I think I'll double check that in a minute

  • Niels Kühnel 16 posts 726 karma points
    May 14, 2013 @ 16:43
    Niels Kühnel
    0

    So, it works? Great :)

    Last time I checked, the package modified web.config and added the config sections to web.config. I'll test the installer and see if it's still the case.

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    May 14, 2013 @ 16:48
    Peter
    0

    Yeah Works! Thanks

  • Justin Moore 41 posts 100 karma points
    May 15, 2013 @ 18:17
    Justin Moore
    0

    I'm getting "specified virtual file could not be found" as below.

    generating urls like: http://local.blah.com/CropUp/thumb/media/84757/case-study-placeholder.jpg and get the error below

    I can hit http://local.blah.com/media/84757/case-study-placeholder.jpg fine though so the file is there

    Umbraco 4.9.1, CropUp 1.07. I previously had CropUp 0.9 working on the same site OK

    The specified virtual file could not be found.

    [FileNotFoundException: The specified virtual file could not be found.]
       ImageResizer.ImageBuilder.GetStreamFromSource(Object source, ResizeSettings settings, Boolean& disposeStream, String& path, Boolean& restoreStreamPosition) +1512
       ImageResizer.ImageBuilder.LoadImage(Object source, ResizeSettings settings, Boolean restoreStreamPos) +719
       Eksponent.CropUp.Plugins.ImageResizerDialect.GetBitmap(String virtualPath) +72
       Eksponent.CropUp.AutoDetect.FaceAndEnergyDetector.SuggestCropInfo(String virtualPath, Dialect dialect) +50
       Eksponent.CropUp.DefaultCropDataProvider.GetCropData(String virtualPath) +866
       Eksponent.CropUp.Plugins.ImageResizerPlugin.Pipeline_Rewrite(IHttpModule sender, HttpContext context, IUrlEventArgs e) +508
       ImageResizer.Configuration.PipelineConfig.FireRewritingEvents(IHttpModule sender, HttpContext context, IUrlEventArgs e) +87
       ImageResizer.InterceptModule.CheckRequest_PostAuthorizeRequest(Object sender, EventArgs e) +439
  • Justin Moore 41 posts 100 karma points
    May 15, 2013 @ 18:45
    Justin Moore
    0

    ignore me, the file in question wasn't actually there in my file system after all 

    working for me now too

  • Justin Moore 41 posts 100 karma points
    May 17, 2013 @ 14:19
    Justin Moore
    0

    Handy to do something like this http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/api-cheatsheet/using-applicationbase-to-register-events/event-examples/adjust-media-file-so-it's-url-friendly to strip spaces etc from media when saved. CropUp doesn't like spaces in filename, who does

  • Connie DeCinko 931 posts 1160 karma points
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 03:11
    Connie DeCinko
    0

    I installed this on a dev site, and it worked. Installed on a second site and it failed to resize/crop. Moved a few things around in the web.config and got it working after several hours. Copied that working site to a new server and now once again, it refuses to work correctly. It seems if I specify a width and height it works. It however refuses to use my alias. I've uninstalled and reinstalled and followed several things in this thread.

    Now what?

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 15:40
    Peter
    0

    I have found the issue was based around another plugin installed. I think the 301 redirect manager. The problem comes from the urlRewriternet rewriter with the other plugin, which then falters before it goes to crop-up.

    So, my advice is to look at the other bits installed.

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 22:42
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hmm, I'm having the same issue on Umbraco 6.1.6 using latest version of cropup.

    I tried adding the CropUpModule section as Peter described above, but without any luck.

    In my installation I also have the url tracker package but I tried uninstalling and got the same result - but if I go to www.myurl.dk/CropUp/100x100/myimage.jpg then it's working without problems...

    So it seems it can't read the defined width/height from the config file?

    Seems like some of you managed to get it working by rearranging some section etc. in the web.config - would you care to share what the whole web.config looks like? Remember to delete connection strings and other stuff that no one else should know about of course :)

    Cheers, Jan

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:46
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    ...Still pulling my hair over this one.

    I'm using IIS8 on a virtual windows 8 running 64 bit.

    The application pool is running integrated mode and is run by the network service.

    I've had a look at the troubleshooting guide here http://imageresizing.net/docs/troubleshoot but I'm not sure what to do - I think it's something with the configuration of IIS and I've had a look at the suggestions here http://imageresizing.net/docs/troubleshoot#image-appears-original-size but I'm feeling really lost...anyone got a clue?

    Cheers, Jan

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 22:20
    Jan Skovgaard
    2

    Ok, so it turns out that there is a bug where CropUp won't work if aliases are not strictly lower-case and consists of only lettters.

    I had camelCasing in my aliases so I had an alias called "fullWidth". When i changed this alias to "fullwidth" in the config file and in my rendering then it worked :)

    The bug has been reported in september here http://cropup.codeplex.com/workitem/9

    /Jan

  • Simon Dingley 1470 posts 3427 karma points c-trib
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 17:16
    Simon Dingley
    0

    I have this issue in a v6.1.1 site whereby the crop mode is being ignored and, in my case at least, the issue is caused by the fact that if you don't have the CleanUrls plugin enabled (I don't because it created performance issues) the crop mode gets set to "crop-up" instead of "crop". If you manually amend the url of an image that is not working you get the expected image file.

    Simon

  • Clara Sell 1 post 21 karma points
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 15:21
    Clara Sell
    0

    I have same problem. If Umbraco Expert here please contact me.

  • Peter 89 posts 160 karma points
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 15:44
    Peter
    0

    Hey Clara,  I'm not an Umbraco Expert, but will try and help. :)

    Can you detail your issue? And have you followed the thread to see if any of the other solutions have worked for you?

    P

  • Simon Dingley 1470 posts 3427 karma points c-trib
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 17:59
    Simon Dingley
    0

    If, like me you don't have clean urls enabled for CropUp I could give you my custom build to see if that helps?

    Simon

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft