Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Irina Wilson 1 post 21 karma points
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 13:49
    Irina Wilson
    0

    Slow Website...Please help! - Server Error in '/' Application.

    Hello, I am having problem with my website. The site is loading very slow and I get a Runtime error. Please tell me what I can do to improve the loading speed of my website? I am using Umbraco 4.7 version. Thanks in advance for any advice.

    Server Error in '/' Application.

    Runtime Error

    Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine. 

    Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a <customErrors> tag within a "web.config" configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This <customErrors> tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".

    <!-- Web.Config Configuration File -->
    
    <configuration>
        <system.web>
            <customErrors mode="Off"/>
        </system.web>
    </configuration>


    Notes: The current error page you are seeing can be replaced by a custom error page by modifying the "defaultRedirect" attribute of the application's <customErrors> configuration tag to point to a custom error page URL.

    <!-- Web.Config Configuration File -->
    
    <configuration>
        <system.web>
            <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly" defaultRedirect="mycustompage.htm"/>
        </system.web>
    </configuration>
  • Dan 1288 posts 3921 karma points c-trib
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 13:57
    Dan
    1

    Hi Irina,

    The error message above doesn't give any useful information but it's fairly simple to change the site settings to yield something more helpful. If you're running this on a non-public site, then I'd suggest looking in your web.config file and changing:

    <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly"/>
    

    ... to:

    <customErrors mode="Off"/>
    

    This will then allow the actual error message to be output, which should give more clues as to what's going wrong.

  • Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 14:01
    Dennis Aaen
    0

    Hi Irina,

    You could try to enable the customErros, by changing the <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly"/> to <customErrors mode="Off"/> in the webconfig. When you have done that try visit your site again. Now you should be able to get a more specific error message.

    Hope this can help you. (I was too slow)

    /Dennis

  • Maria Pavletic 3 posts 23 karma points
    May 30, 2014 @ 22:03
    Maria Pavletic
    0

    Last week our website crashed and IT dept went to a back up to get it up again.

    Now when I go to edit on site, I can preview and save but when I go to publish I get this error-

    Help!

  • Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7103 karma points c-trib
    May 30, 2014 @ 22:14
    Nicholas Westby
    0

    Looks like a permission issue. Try setting your entire website folder and all contained items to give permission to the same identity running your application pool (sometimes it's the network service, and sometimes it's an identity assigned based on the name of the application pool).

    Could also be that you have a load balanced server and the file system is shared by multiple servers, which may be causing issues?

  • Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7103 karma points c-trib
    May 30, 2014 @ 22:16
    Nicholas Westby
    0

    Regarding the slowness, there could be any number of reasons for that, but I did notice this issue recently ("Application is slow then locks itself"): http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-4931

  • Maria Pavletic 3 posts 23 karma points
    May 30, 2014 @ 22:24
    Maria Pavletic
    0

    System isn't running slow..just crashing when I publish anything. Not sure how to give permission to same identity running my application pool? Can you break it down better? Screen shots? I'm not a web master..sorry.

  • Maria Pavletic 3 posts 23 karma points
    May 30, 2014 @ 22:26
    Maria Pavletic
    0

    System isn't running slow..just crashing when I publish anything. Not sure how to give permission to same identity running my application pool? Can you break it down better? Screen shots? I'm not a web master..sorry.

  • Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7103 karma points c-trib
    May 30, 2014 @ 23:26
    Nicholas Westby
    1

    http://www.iis.net/learn/manage/configuring-security/application-pool-identities

    First, open IIS. Go to the application pools. Find the application pool used by your website. Suppose your application pool is called "MySite". Your application pool identity would be "IIS AppPool\MySite".

    Right click on your website's file system folder in Explorer, then "Properties", then "Security", then "Edit", then "Add", type "IIS AppPool\MySite" (or whatever is appropriate), then "Check Names", then "OK", then "Full Control" "Allow", then "OK" once or twice. If asked to apply to all files/folder, click 'Yes".

    If that doesn't work, repeat that process, but with "Network Service" instead of "IIS AppPool\MySite".

    If that doesn't work, repeat that process, but with "Everyone". It's not a good idea to give everyone permission to all your website files, but it's useful as a troubleshooting technique just to see if it's a permission issue.

    Note: some of those steps may vary depending on which OS/IIS version you're running.

  • Chris Krueger 2 posts 22 karma points
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 00:32
    Chris Krueger
    0

    I tried to make updates to our website and get the following error. Any ideas on how to fix this?

     

    Server Error in '/' Application.


     

    Value cannot be null.
    Parameter name: source

     

    An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.


    Stack Trace:

    [ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
    Parameter name: source]
       System.Linq.Enumerable.SingleOrDefault(IEnumerable`1 source, Func`2 predicate) +4472982
       umbraco.BusinessLogic.User.GetApplications() +403
       umbraco.cms.presentation._umbraco.Page_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e) +64
       System.Web.Util.CalliHelper.EventArgFunctionCaller(IntPtr fp, Object o, Object t, EventArgs e) +25
       umbraco.BasePages.BasePage.OnLoad(EventArgs e) +19
       System.Web.UI.Control.LoadRecursive() +71
       System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +3064
    

     


    Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:4.0.30319; ASP.NET Version:4.0.30319.272

  • Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7103 karma points c-trib
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 00:43
    Nicholas Westby
    0

    I vaguely remember seeing something like that when I performed some upgrade (of Umbraco or a package). See here: http://our.umbraco.org/forum/using/ui-questions/33835-admin-error?p=1

    Are your "applications.config" and "trees.config" files empty? If so, replace them with the originals (hopefully you have a backup). If you don't have a backup, you should be able to find those files in the original download (I would guess for you that is http://our.umbraco.org/contribute/releases/472/ ). Should be in the "config" folder.

    Otherwise, this could be a permission issue, which is what those steps were trying to resolve in the first place. You could also try restarting your application pool.

    Let us know how that works for you.

  • Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7103 karma points c-trib
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 00:47
    Nicholas Westby
    0

    Ha, Chris, I just realized you weren't the OP (I guess people are landing here because of the generic error message "Server Error in Application"). Check those two files to see if they're empty... that's probably your issue.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft