Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Quiller Caudill 4 posts 54 karma points
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:38
    Quiller Caudill
    0

    Problems migrating to new web server

    First, some background and context: I'm generally a PHP and Drupal developer but have been tasked with migrating several existing Umbraco 4.0 websites to a new server. We use Rackspace, so I spun up a new Windows Server 2008 image and started by installing a fresh copy of Umbraco 6.5. That went well, so I went back and tried to install Umbraco 4.5 (the earliest version still available for download). I ran into a few issues there, but eventually got everything installed and working.

    Then came the hard part of migrating the files and database for the existing sites. Like the 4.5 install, I ran into a few errors and hiccups that were solved by cupious amounts of Google and Stack Overflow research. Eventually that well ran dry, however, and I'm not making any progress on my own.

    The problem: Loading one of the sites on localhost gives a very ambiguous "The network path was not found" error. The full error report is viewable here: http://pastebin.com/grDWR8uw. The web server is running IIS 7.5, ASP.NET 4.0 and SQL Server 2008 Express. The specific version of Umbraco is 4.0.2.1.

    I could use some assistance in interpreting these error reports. Is there a configuration problem or does it look like a compatibility issue with how the server is configured? Also, I'm more than happy to pay for a few hours of consulting or support if there is a vendor out there that can help!

    Thanks!

  • Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:43
    Stefan Kip
    0

    This error message isn't ambiguous in my opinion:

    A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server)

  • Quiller Caudill 4 posts 54 karma points
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:47
    Quiller Caudill
    0

    I changed the "umbracoDbDSN" setting in the web.config file to use the new database login credentials. Do I need to change something else related to the database, too?

  • Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:48
    Stefan Kip
    0

    I don't know what your configuration should look like, I'm just saying umbraco isn't able to connect with the SQL Server you've specified.

  • Quiller Caudill 4 posts 54 karma points
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:52
    Quiller Caudill
    0

    Since I'm not an Umbraco developer or that familiar with Windows/ASP.NET projects in general... can you at least confirm the typical configuration needed for a generic Umbraco site? I get that you don't know enough about my specific configuration and setup, though, so if you can't help there I understand.

    After looking at the web.config file a bit more I found a "UCommerce" tag under <connectionStrings> that didn't match the username and password in the "umbracoDbDSN" tag. I updated that information but still get the same error. That same section has a "LocalSqlServer" tag that is commented out -- is that relevant?

  • Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:54
    Stefan Kip
    0

    The stacktrace of the error mentions 'umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web.Domain.GetDomains()', which means umbraco itself isn't able to connect to SQL, which means the umbracoDbDSN is incorrect.

    Step 1 of configuring umbraco is making sure the umbraco DbDSN (connectionstring) is correct, in this case it seems the 'server=XXXXXXXXX' part of the DbDSN is incorrect; a connection can't be made.

  • Quiller Caudill 4 posts 54 karma points
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:56
    Quiller Caudill
    100

    Found the problem! You're absolutely correct that the problem was with "umbracoDbDSN" and not anything else in the web.config file. I changed server=server to server=localhost and the site now loads properly.

    Thanks for your help and patience!

  • Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 16:58
    Stefan Kip
    0

    No problem, glad you got it fixed!
    Could you mark this topic as solved, so others can easily navigate to the solution?

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft