Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Bunnynut 136 posts 318 karma points
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 13:48
    Bunnynut
    0

    Dictionary changes not visible on website

    I have a lot of dictionary items in my umbraco website but any changes i make to them dont show up on the website. I do see these changes on the dev environment.
    I have tried publishing the entire website and recycling the app pool to no avail.

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 14:35
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Bunnynut

    What version of Umbraco are you using?

    And is it in your local environment the changes don't show up? But is working fine in your dev/stage environment?

    Have you checked the /app_data/logs file to see if it reveals anything about the issue perhaps?

    How are you accessing your items in your code?

    /Jan

  • Bunnynut 136 posts 318 karma points
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 19:30
    Bunnynut
    0

    Hi Jan, thanks for your reply.

    Im using Umbraco 4.0.4.1.

    In my local environment this sometimes happens as well but this particular instance it works correct in my local environment.
    The only thing in my app_data folder is an .mdf and .ldf file but nog logs folder.

    Im using the following code to get the item from the dictionary:
                if (Dictionary.DictionaryItem.hasKey(propName))
                    propName = library.GetDictionaryItem(propertyNameInDAL);

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 23:20
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Bunnynut

    Ah ok, then there are no log files as .txt files - to access the log on this version you need to access the database and query the umbraco log table in order to see if something of interest is written to the log. I just asumed you were on a newer version in my above reply.

    Have you double checked that both environments have been setup correctly? Perhaps there is a permission issue of some sort?

    /Jan

  • Bunnynut 136 posts 318 karma points
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 09:46
    Bunnynut
    0

    Ok, i have just checked the logtable and i see the following:

    Republish entire website:
    39118    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:34:19.847    Debug    Xml saved in 00:00:00.0197975
    39119    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:34:19.847    Debug    Xml saved in 00:00:00.0042847
    39116    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:34:19.813    Debug    Xml Pages loaded
    39117    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:34:19.813    Debug    Done republishing Xml Index
    39115    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:34:19.800    Debug    Republishing starting
    39114    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:34:19.783    System    Loading content from database...

    Everything seems fine there... (i think)

    I do see a lot of these:
    39112    0    -1    2014-03-27 09:32:34.890    NotFound    en/gasveren (from '')

    I thought you were on to something when you mentioned that it was a permission issue because i have had to migrate the website a couple of times in the last year. But i see no issues regarding this. It stores the Dictionary items in the database right? Does the website actually get them from the database at runtime or from a cache?

    I also see thins in the logtable:
    39059    0    -1    2014-03-26 13:33:11.103    System    Loading content from disk cache...
    30955    0    -1    2013-11-28 22:59:34.370    System    Loading content from disk cache...
    30952    0    -1    2013-11-27 17:58:43.467    System    Loading content from disk cache...
    30949    0    -1    2013-11-26 13:00:06.903    System    Loading content from disk cache...

    There is a rather big gap between the last content load and the on before that.
    When does it read from cache? Can i force it to do that? And if so how?

    Your help is greatly appreciated by the way

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 09:51
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Bunnynut

    Ok, those entries seem fine to me.

    So are all the entries translated in both environments or do you have empty dictionary entries, which may be the reason you don't see anything?

    Otherwise try comparing the two environments to see if there are any differences in the setup perhaps.

    I can't remember if dictionary items are being loaded from a cache or if it's from the database. I think it's from the database actually. It's not saved in the umbraco xml though.

    /Jan

  • Bunnynut 136 posts 318 karma points
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 13:21
    Bunnynut
    0

    I have checked all the directories for the correct permission by using the following list:
    http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/files-and-folders/permissions

    Still nothing changes.

    So i deleted the dictionary items to recreate them afterwards but they didnt show up in umbraco, without any error.
    I then added a record with for the dictionary item and that worked, allthough that doesnt seem like they it should work.

    I have the same issue with some page properties which dont seem to publish correctly. I do see the changes in the umbraco data file however.

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 13:23
    Jan Skovgaard
    1

    Hi Bunnynut

    Hmm, that's really odd. I'm afraid I'm all out of ideas on what the issue could. Perhaps it could be a weird bug but it's hard to know and since it's a really old version of Umbraco it won't be fixed either.

    Is there any possibility of doing an upgrade perhaps?

    /Jan

  • Bunnynut 136 posts 318 karma points
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:39
    Bunnynut
    0

    An upgrade is not possible im affraid.

    Thank you for your help anyway.

  • Delly Mellas Nyman 64 posts 316 karma points
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 05:48
    Delly Mellas Nyman
    0

    Hi,

    I'm having the same problem here, if I use the dictionary item in my layout template it's does'nt show up the item. But if I use the dictionary item not in layout template, it's showed without any error. Is there any mistake I have done?

    I tried using Umbraco.Field, Umbraco.GetDictionaryValue, umbraco.library.GetDictionaryItem, but stil does'nt show up.

    I am using umbraco 7.1.6 anyway

    Thanks

  • Delly Mellas Nyman 64 posts 316 karma points
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 07:09
    Delly Mellas Nyman
    1

    Hi,

    Finally found the solution, the error is because my template are using umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web.

    I moving the section that using umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web to partialview, and the dictionary now works fine.

    Thanks

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft