Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jonathan Caddy 3 posts 23 karma points
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 01:18
    Jonathan Caddy

Pushing external data into Umbraco Content Types

I am new to Umbraco and in the process of evaluating the platform with a view to standardising on it as our main CMS. I love the separation of content from presentation and the fact that you have complete control over the presentation output through templates. I am also familiar with the ASP.NET MVC way of developing web apps.

My question is about Umbraco best practice in surfacing content from an external source. I would like to create a Content Type which matches the data format of the external source (web service or database) and then programmatically create content to be displayed in a site page from this source. The most obvious analogy would be a news service which I could display news items in a panel on pages in the Umbraco site. Now I am aware I could throw a bunch of code into a Razor view template, but I'd like to keep that out of my views. From a plain MVC perspective I would probably create some data access code and inject components into a MVC controller which would create some model for display in a MVC view.

What is the best way of achieving this with Umbraco? Does Umbraco use MVC controllers in the same way - with action methods, model binding etc?

If someone could point me in the right direction I would be very grateful - and any documentation resources would help too.

Apr 22, 2014 @ 01:57
    Jonathan Caddy

I guess one just needs to poke around the documentation - RTFM as they say. It would appear that SurfaceControllers are the way to achieve what I need. If anyone has any comments or additional information I would still be delighted to hear.

• Javier Barrera 34 posts 85 karma points
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 19:28
    Javier Barrera