Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Anders Bjerner 487 posts 2989 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    May 26, 2014 @ 13:14
    Anders Bjerner

Questions regarding how Umbraco stores and hashes passwords

Let me start with saying that I'm not a security expert, and I don't know what thoughts the HQ have had on how passwords are currently stored in Umbraco. That being said, I have some security concerns on how Umbraco stores passwords. These concerns only applies IF a potential hacker (the evil kind) should get access to an Umbraco database.

By default Umbraco will store passwords using HMACSHA1 - a hashing algorithm that takes two inputs (a key and a value) to produce a single output, that then is stored the database. HMACSHA1 isn't necessarily a bad for storing passwords, but it also has some drawbacks, including the way it is used in Umbraco.

From what I can understand the idea of storing passwords using HMACSHA1 is to have a different key and value to make the stored hashed less predictable.

Umbraco uses the password of the user as both the key and the value making password more predictable. Below is a reference to the old Member.cs from Umbraco 4, but Umbraco 7 appears to be storing password the same way.

https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/blob/82c1c95e357e4f64df4fd441175997013c077734/src/umbraco.cms/businesslogic/member/Member.cs#L1264

If my password is bacon (because, who wouldn't?) the stored hash will be FfEajy0CHVkzTSqZPXRBMZIGndc=. The hash will always be this value for bacon - across all Umbraco installations. And if two users have the password bacon, they will have the same hash in the database.