Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Paul Nerie 10 posts 72 karma points
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 11:09
    Paul Nerie

Deployment strategies to deployed sites

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Umbraco, so pardon me if this has been asked many times before. I tried to search, but the results do not answer my question completely.

My question is how do we update an already deployed site? While retaining data that is already there.

Surprisingly the documenation page ends at 'Development Guidelines'. I have read about Courier, but it currenlty does not support version 7 so I cannot use it. I also checked out uSync but haven't tried it yet. There maybe other options.

Can someone point out how to do this, best practices, what to look out for, etc? Not necessarily explain it all here, but links will do :).

Btw I am experienced it deploying non-Umbraco .Net websites, it's just this framework that I'm new at.

Thanks in advance!

Jul 04, 2014 @ 02:44
    Paul Nerie

Anyone?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 20:53
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Paul

The initial deploy is usually done by scripting the database and the import it on the database server of the production environment and then files are usually deployed using FTP for instance.

Once the initial steps have been done you could use Courier (currently for versions lower than 7 as you mention), uSync or uMport.

You could also do things manually but that's probably too inefficient.

Using Umbraco As A Service could also be an option once it's open to the public since it takes care of all the infrastructure for you so all you need to do is push a button to deploy between environments.

I hope some of these input are useful - And I'm looking forward to hearing more from you if you have any further questions.

Cheers, Jan

Jul 09, 2014 @ 05:03
    Paul Nerie

Hi Jan,

Thanks for the reply!