Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:07
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Creating a many to many relationship between nodes

    Hi

    I need to link a number of nodes and as far as I can tell, the relationship API does not support many to many relationships. 

    I am thinking about placing the relationships in a custom table, but I don't know, if there is a better way of doing it?

    thanks

    Thomas

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:17
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi Thomas,

    Can you give an example as to the data you'd like to associate ? The relationship API can be used to link many to many...

    Cheers,

    Hendy

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:24
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Hi Hendy

    I have a website where a number of nodes share some basic data. So when I update the data on a node, I would like to update/sync the other nodes with the data. So I guess it would be sufficient to store a many-to-many relationship based on the nodeIds. When I then update a node, I can fetch the other nodes based on their Ids and then update the data on each node.

    But I don't know how to achieve this with the relationship API. As far as I can tell from the relationship API, it only supports relationship between two nodes, and I need relationships between X number of nodes.

    thanks

    Thomas

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:29
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi Thomas,

    if you use a Parent to Child RelationType and link A to B, and then A to C, it's possible to return B and C supplying the parameter A, ie. returning a collection of IDs linked to the ID of the node just updated, is this what you're after ?

    Cheers,

    Hendy

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:39
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    I would like to support the following scenarios:

    When I update node  A, I also update node B and node C

    When I update node B, I also update node A and node C

    When I update node C, I also update node A and node B

     

    So what your are suggesting is to create Parent to Child RelationTypes for A->B and A->C.

    Another set of Parent to Child RelationTypes for B->A and B->C.

    And yet another set of Parent to Child RelationTypes C->A and C->B ?

    Which I guess would be fine since my custom table would also create the following relationships:

    A->B

    A->C

    B->A

    B->C

    C->A

    C->B

     

    Cheers,

    Thomas

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 21:54
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi Thomas,

    How about using a single bidirectional RelationType and linking:

    A <---> B

    A <---> C

    B <---> C

    a query looking for B will return A and C

    HTH,

    Hendy

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:16
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Hi Hendy

     

    that seems to be the best solution. Thanks!

    Do I need to install the Relation Types package first (btw I am on umb 4.6.1)?

     

    thanks

    Thomas

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:25
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Hi Hendy

     

    I installed the RelationTypes package, but I cannot create any relation types (the create option is not there when I right click and the create-button is greyed out). Any suggestions?

     

    thanks

    Thomas

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:30
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi Thomas,

    You don't need to install the Relation Types package, (it works in 4.6.1) but it does offer a nice UI to be able to manage the rows in the umbracoRelationType table.

    Cheers,

    Hendy

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:36
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Hi Hendy

     

    just recompiled and republished the site and now I can create the RelationTypes using the Relation Type package :-)

     

    Cheers

    Thomas

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:39
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi Thomas,

    I've noticed that too, but only occasionly which is odd - if you restart the app, the right click actions should then appear... would be good to solve this one...

    Cheers,

    Hendy

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:51
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Hi Hendy

     

    It works :-)

     

    One last thing, is it possible to expose the relationships on a node in the backend? 

     

    thanks

    Thomas

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 22:55
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi Thomas, I started on that, the source in CodePlex has an additional tab that lists out the Relations for a particular Relation Type...

    HTH,

    Hendy

  • Thomas Dolberg 74 posts 95 karma points
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 23:19
    Thomas Dolberg
    0

    Hi Hendy

     

    thank you very much for your help. It is much appreciated.

     

    best regards

    Thomas

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies