Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • SinkyPars 132 posts 175 karma points
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:28
    SinkyPars
    1

    DocumentType Multi Site Dropdown

    Hi guys,

    I have drawn a blank here (I think because its been so long since I had to do this).

    I have an umbraco installation which contains three sites. I want to create a datatype which will be a dropdown of type client.

    Type client should be unique to each site.

    How can I create a drop down which will take the current node (in the backend) find its home page and then return the children which are of type client?

    Thanks

     

    S

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:40
    Hendy Racher
    4

    Hi SinkyPars,

    You could use the uComponents XPath DropDownList datatype, and configure it with an XPath expression like:

    $currentPage/ancestor-or-self::HomePageDocType/descendent::TypeClientDocType

    or (if using the lastest build)

    $ancestorOrSelf/ancestor-or-self::HomePageDocType/descendent::TypeClientDocType

    HTH,

    Hendy

  • Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:41
    Tom Fulton
    2

    Hi,

    You can use XPath DropDownList from uComponents for this.  It supports setting the dropdown options via an XPath Statement, so you can do something like: $parentPage/ancestor-or-self::SiteHomepage//Client to select only "Client" documents under the current "SiteHomepage" tree.

    Hope this helps,
    Tom

  • Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:42
    Tom Fulton
    0

    You're getting quicker, Hendy :)

  • SinkyPars 132 posts 175 karma points
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:53
    SinkyPars
    0

    Great guys thanks!"

    S

  • SinkyPars 132 posts 175 karma points
    May 25, 2011 @ 17:59
    SinkyPars
    0

    Ah, doesnt seem to work so I tried this:

    $currentPage/ancestor-or-self::*[@isDoc and name() = 'Homepage']/descendent::*[@isDoc and name() = 'Client']

    But I still get:

    Syntax error in XPath expression

    :S

    Any ideas why?

    Thanks

    S

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    May 25, 2011 @ 18:23
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Hi SinkyPars,

    Is the current node published ?

    Does it work if you test on the doctype alias rather than the node name ?

    (the datatype will definitely do what you want)

    Cheers,

    Hendy

     

  • Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    May 25, 2011 @ 18:34
    Tom Fulton
    1

    I think descendant is spelled wrong?  (e instead of i) ?

    -Tom

  • Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    May 25, 2011 @ 18:41
    Hendy Racher
    0

    Oh yeah, oops ! well spotted :)

    Could avoid having to remember how to spell 'descendant' using Toms example above.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft