Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Michael Worrall 57 posts 82 karma points
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 13:30
    Michael Worrall

How to cancel document creation using Document.Newing

I'm new to the Umbraco API, and am really struggling to cancel the creation of a document if one already exists within it's parent with that name (i.e. sibling).  I know Umbraco automatically appends a (1), (2) etc...  but I want to cancel the creation for other reasons.

I'm attempting to use the Document.Newing event for this.  However it just passes in an "object" as the sender and I cannot figure out how to find out anything about the document that we are about to create.  I've tried casting sender as both CMSNode and Document, and both return null.

If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be most helpful.

Thanks,

Michael

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 13:42
    Rich Green

Hey Micheal,

I'm not sure I understand the logic.

Wouldn't you check to see if the doc with the name you are trying to create already exists and if it does don't try to create it? 

Rich

• Michael Worrall 57 posts 82 karma points
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 15:23
    Michael Worrall

I guess you would check in reality...

However Iet me attempt to explain a little more...

I've got 2 identical websites (in different languages) and I want to automatically generate the alternate language version when he user creates a document under either site.  So I've created a Document.New event which duplicates the page using the Copy method, at which point i found my events in an endless loop of creating pages. So I did a simple check to see if the parent already has a page of the same name and if it does then don't duplicate the page again, and again and again....