Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • ds 191 posts 223 karma points
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 14:36
    ds
    0

    How to prevalue as string via codebehind?

    I try to get the string from prevalue and display text in griedview. How can I do it?

                List lst = new List();            
    var members = Member.GetAll;

    foreach (Member member in members)
    {
    lst.Add(member.getProperty("member_CompanyName").Value.ToString());
    }

    GridView1.DataSource = lst;
    GridView1.DataBind();

     

     

  • ds 191 posts 223 karma points
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 15:06
    ds
    0

    I tried something like that but it still shows ids

                List lst = new List();            
    var members = Member.GetAll;

    foreach (Member member in members)
    {
    lst.Add(member.getProperty("member_CompanyName").Value.ToString());
    var mp = member.getProperty("member_Province").Value.ToString();
    foreach(var id in mp.Split(','))
    {
    lst.Add(id);
    //Response.Write(id);
    }
    }

    GridView1.DataSource = lst;
    GridView1.DataBind();
  • andy_rose 91 posts 117 karma points
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 17:03
    andy_rose
    0

    If you know the umbraco id of the datatype you are using to get prevalues from you can use umbraco.library method GetPrevalues(int dataTypeId):

    var preValues = umbraco.library.GetPrevalues(1234);

    Alternatively for a specific prevalue you can use the GetPreValueAsString(int id) method:

    var preValueString = umbraco.library.GetPreValueAsString(1234);

    Looking at your above code you could try something like:

    foreach(Member member in members)
               
    {
                    var preVal = (int)member.getProperty("member_CompanyName").Value;                 lst.Add(umbraco.library.GetPreValueAsString(preVal));
               
    }

     

  • ds 191 posts 223 karma points
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:16
    ds
    0

    After trying your suggestion andy, I get 

    Specified cast is not valid.

  • andy_rose 91 posts 117 karma points
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 10:49
    andy_rose
    0

    Sorry, I think the Value property object that represents the id is a string. Try the following:

    var preVal =Convert.ToInt32(member.getProperty("member_CompanyName").Value);

     

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies