Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• sam jones 9 posts 21 karma points
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 01:59
    sam jones

How to access Umbraco content from existing .NET application?

Greetings all!

I am new to umbraco, and may not be phrasing my question well. Please help me get started with umbraco (which looks smoking hot).

I have an existing, large, ASP.NET app. It has nothing to do with umbraco.

I need to allow my tech writer to create help file content, which will be available on various pages in the ASP.NET app.

How can I point a control at a given page in umbraco, and frame the umbraco content?

Any help to get started... very appreciated!

Thank you!

• Aaron Powell 1708 posts 3046 karma points c-trib
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 04:48
    Aaron Powell

You can either import the site into Umbraco, since Umbraco v4 supports Master Pages as the template format this can be easy. But depending on how the .NET functionality is done it may make it quite hard if they are not in the form of UserControls (which you can turn into Umbraco Macros).

Your other option is to use the Umbraco API (the classes in the nodeFactory namespace) to load up a particular node in the Umbraco content tree and pull in the data directly. This could be a little problematic as it would be hard to relate the Umbraco node to the page you want to put the content on.

Jul 02, 2009 @ 19:37
    sam jones

Thank you for the reply.

Allow me to clarify what I am talking about:

>> You can either import the site into Umbraco,

That is NOT possible. This is a db-drive ASP.NET application. Think of it as though it were an ASP.NET shopping cart or something. It cannot be imported into anything.... It just "is" ...

>> Your other option is to use the Umbraco API

We _thought_ that was the answer. But it appears that we need to install umbraco _inside_ our existing app?