Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dan Christoffersen 64 posts 119 karma points
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 11:07
    Dan Christoffersen

How to use event handlers on custom document types?

I must completly have missed something. It might be that I'm new to both Umbraco and .net, but I can't seem to figure out how use the event handlers on custom document types. Actually the problem is that I can't figure out how to implement and use the custom document types in Umbraco in the first place. Maybe I have got it all wrong?!

Can anyone please point me in the right direction, or maybe just in the direction of where to find the documentation for it (if any)?

Cheers,
    Dan

Ps. : This is probably one of those post that has such a simple solution that I end up being embarred about ever posting it, so please be gentle ;-)

• Thomas Höhler 1237 posts 1709 karma points MVP
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 11:21
    Thomas Höhler

First take a list on the available event handlers: http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/api-cheatsheet/using-applicationbase-to-register-events/overview-of-all-events

If you want to react on the publishing of a content item from a special document type just implement the BeforePublish event handler and check for the document type alias of the document which will be saved.

hth, Thomas

Aug 14, 2009 @ 11:21
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 11:32
    Dan Christoffersen

I think you might have misunderstood my problem. I have read the examples but don't get how they will end up working in my umbraco application. My "issue" is probably a much more fundamental one.

Making a class with the functions that handles the event - no problem. Compiling it to a dll - no problem. Uploading the dll to the Umbraco installation dir/bin - no problem. Where to go from there - big problem ;-)

As mentioned before, I might have got the Idea of how it works all wrong.

/Dan

Aug 14, 2009 @ 11:44