Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Khai 71 posts 161 karma points
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 21:34
    Khai

How to setup a business ( data ) layer in Umbraco?

I'm new to Umbraco and I am planning on doing a project with it. After reading through some documentation, I still have no idea how to create my architecture.

I'm planning on building a website that has a forum and is mainly focused on videos ( youtube videos ). The website will also need to create top rated lists of the videos. And users can rate and comment on videos aswell. ( I'm planning on having a lot of videos )

So the idea is to have these entities:

Videos

• ID
    • CategoryID
    • Title
    • Description
    • URL1 ( url to youtube )
    • URL2
    • URL3
    • URL4
    • URL5
    • Tags

Categories

• ID
    • Title

Ratings

• VideoID
    • UserID
    • RateValue

Comments

• VideoID
    • UserID
    • Comment

So does anyone have ideas on how to implement this in Umbraco? Should I use a seperate external DB for these entities? Or should I use document types? The document type looks pretty powerful but it feels weird to create a document type for the ratings or comments. 

• julius 107 posts 289 karma points
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 00:50
    julius

You could do it using just document types by adding Ratings under videos for instance. But I agree it's weird. What you have is a relational database design and you are trying to apply it to a tree structure. 

You could use a combination of the two. Why not create Category, Video and Comment document types and store ratings in a separate database table that stores the ratings?