Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Daniel 15 posts 107 karma points
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 05:07
    Daniel

Setting image from media library using code behind

I am pretty new to Umbraco still and to give perspective, I also use sitecore which may be shifting my view of this issue. I may be missing a simple and major concept of Umbraco. Anyway, the issue I am trying to resolve is just setting the logo of all my pages that is taken from a node that i named "Site Data." I am using a media picker for the field and have a usercontrol that is placed in the header of every page. Is there an easier / better way to accomplish this than as follows? :

The user control (attached to masterpage):
    <%@ Control Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="logo.ascx.cs" Inherits="..." %>
    <a href='...'>
        <asp:Image ID="Logo" AlternateText="Logo" runat="server" />
    </a>

The codebehind:
            protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                var node = new Node( Ref.SiteInfo ); // Ref is just a class I made that holds node IDs

var file = new Media(int.Parse(node.GetProperty("headerLogo").Value));
                Logo.ImageUrl = file.getProperty("umbracoFile").Value.ToString();
            }

Which works but doesn't feel right,

When using sitecore, you could just use a
    <sc:Image Field="logo" runat="server" ID="HeaderLogo" />

and in the code behind,
    HeaderLogo.Item = node;