Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Travis 7 posts 58 karma points
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 22:33
    Travis

WebApi return JSON from Examine search

Umbraco version 6.1.6. I am new to WebApi and Examine and I've spent all day trying to return JSON using WebApi to a clientside jquery ajax call. Despite loads of googling and searhing this forum I can't quite find what I need.

I want to find all instances of a pages created of a particular type "PageType". I then want to return this 'List' of pages back as JSON to the client.

I've cobbled together the following using various snippets found on Google but I am clearly missing something fundamental.

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using Umbraco.Core;
    using Umbraco.Web.WebApi;
    using System.Collections;
    using Umbraco.Web;
    using Examine;
    using Newtonsoft.Json;

public class ThisIsMyApiController : UmbracoApiController
        {
            public IEnumerable GetPages()
            {
                UmbracoHelper help = new UmbracoHelper(UmbracoContext);
    var criteria = ExamineManager.Instance.DefaultSearchProvider.CreateSearchCriteria("content");
    var filter = criteria.NodeTypeAlias("PageType");
    var result = Examine.ExamineManager.Instance.Search(filter.Compile()).ToList();
    return result; }
        }

If I then go to http://localhost/umbraco/api/ThisIsMyApi/GetPages

Fiddler returns this:

HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
    Cache-Control: private
    Content-Type: application/xml; charset=utf-8
    Date: Sun, 01 Dec 2013 21:15:34 GMT
    Content-Length: 3374

<Error><Message>An error has occurred.</Message><ExceptionMessage>The 'ObjectContent`1' type failed to serialize the response body for content type 'application/xml; charset=utf-8'.</ExceptionMessage>