Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alan Josephson 4 posts 24 karma points
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 04:48
    Alan Josephson

Trying to understand UmbracoApiController in standalone MVC 4 Web API project

I am a newbie so please pardon me if this question has been asked and answered elsewhere (I cannot find it at any rate).

I am trying to create a standalone MVC 4 Web API application that I can use to create services that query an Umbraco DB.

I have:

1. Created an MVC 4 Web API Project
    2. Added the Umbraco bin files (through nuGet) to the project
    3. Created a controller class (DocumentApiController) derived from UmbracoApiController)
    4. Copied the web.config file from a working Umbraco instance into the project
    When I try to access the controller (through http://localhost:2460/Umbraco/api/DocumentApi, per the documentation), I get a 404 saying resource cannot be found.
    When I try to access the controller (through http://localhost:2460/api/DocumentApi), I get:

<Error>
    <Message>An error has occurred.</Message>
    <ExceptionMessage>
    Value cannot be null. Parameter name: umbracoContext
    </ExceptionMessage>
    <ExceptionType>System.ArgumentNullException</ExceptionType>
    <StackTrace>
    at Umbraco.Web.WebApi.UmbracoApiController..ctor(UmbracoContext umbracoContext) at Umbraco.Web.WebApi.UmbracoApiController..ctor() at JPMC.HR.Umbraco.POC.Controllers.DocumentApiController..ctor() at lambda_method(Closure ) at System.Web.Http.Dispatcher.DefaultHttpControllerActivator.Create(HttpRequestMessage request, HttpControllerDescriptor controllerDescriptor, Type controllerType)
    </StackTrace>
    </Error>
    Is there an initialization step I am missing for Umbraco in this scenario?  Do I need to remove the routings provided by the initial MVC 4 application?  Is what I am attempting to do even possible?
    Regards,
    Alan Josephson