Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• fabrice 104 posts 227 karma points
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 14:31
    fabrice

ViewModel : PublishedContentModel Vs RenderModel

Hello,

I'm studying all posibilities to use a strongly types view in Umbraco. 

The hybrid framework version 1 has using a base class inheriting from RenderModel and the new V7 is using a base class inheriting from PublishedContentModel

It seems that all model builders (http://our.umbraco.org/projects/developer-tools/ditto/ditto-feedback/56704-Similar-as-my-project) are generating ViewModel classes based on PublishedContentModel (due to the new IPublishedContentModelFactory? https://github.com/zpqrtbnk/Zbu.ModelsBuilder/wiki/IPublishedContentModelFactory)

Question :

If I want to create my ViewModel (by hand), still have access to umbraco content and init it from a custom RenderMvcController class, is it preferable to inherit from RenderModel or from PublishedContentModel ?

What is the difference/pro/cons ?

The only thing that I know so far is that if my viewModel inherit from RenderModel, then the Master view of the site can still "Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage" and I can use the strongly type view only where I want.

Many thanks

Fabrice

• Stephen 767 posts 2273 karma points c-trib
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 18:33
    Stephen

Two different beasts here.

PublishedContentModel is the base class for strongly-typed content models factored by the new IPublishedContentModelFactory at content cache level - ie all content now can be a strongly typed class, eg Umbraco.TypedContent(123) would return an object that is a NewsItem instance.

RenderModel is the base class for view models ie the traditional "M" in "MVC".

Unless you use the IPublishedContentModelFactory (and a model generator of some sort) you are not concerned by PublishedContentModel.