Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Steve Wilkinson 132 posts 211 karma points
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 08:52
    Steve Wilkinson
    0

    Is it possible to hide the fact that the website uses Umbraco

    Obviously security best practice is to hide what webserver is being used, what .net versions are used etc which can be done in IIS.

    Is it possible to hide the fact that the website runs Umbraco (currently on 6.x.x)?

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12135 karma points MVP 9x admin c-trib
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 09:19
    Dave Woestenborghs
    1

    In the web.config on the httpRuntime tag add the attribute : enableVersionHeader="false". This will prevent sending .NET framework information.

    You also need to add this to the system.webServer section in the web.config

     <!-- Ensure the powered by header is not returned -->
        <httpProtocol>
          <customHeaders>
            <remove name="X-Powered-By" />
          </customHeaders>
        </httpProtocol>

    Dave

     

  • Steve Wilkinson 132 posts 211 karma points
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 09:32
    Steve Wilkinson
    0

    Thanks very much :-)

  • Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 10:12
    Dennis Aaen
    0

    Hi Steve,

    If you want to restrict, that people can get access to your umbraco folder, e.g http://www.domain.com/umbraco/, then you could in IIS restrict the umbraco folder to an ip range that corresponds to your organisation.

    http://our.umbraco.org/forum/getting-started/installing-umbraco/13272-How-to-Lock-Down-Umbraco-Backend

    Hope this helps,

    /Dennis

  • Steve Wilkinson 132 posts 211 karma points
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 10:29
    Steve Wilkinson
    0

    we already have

    <httpRuntime requestValidationMode="2.0" enableVersionHeader="false" />
    

    and

    <httpProtocol>
      <customHeaders>
        <remove name="X-Powered-By" />
      </customHeaders>
    </httpProtocol>
    

    but it still shows when I use BuiltWith, is there anything else I've missed?

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12135 karma points MVP 9x admin c-trib
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 10:44
    Dave Woestenborghs
    0

    What header are you still seeing ?

    Dave

  • Steve Wilkinson 132 posts 211 karma points
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 12:10
    Steve Wilkinson
    0

    from Google Chrome dev tools -

    new.*.uk
    

    bootstrap.css /css font-awesome.min.css /css lcc.tabs.css /css css?family=Open+Sans:400,700 fonts.googleapis.com layout.css /css residents.css /css jquery-1.10.2.min.js /scripts/libs 20 requests ❘ 29.7 KB transferred ❘ 269 ms (load: 270 ms, DOMContentLoaded: 206 ms) HeadersPreviewResponseCookiesTiming Remote Address:* Request URL:http://new..uk/ Request Method:GET Status Code:200 OK Request Headersview source Accept:text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,image/webp,/;q=0.8 Accept-Encoding:gzip,deflate,sdch Accept-Language:en-US,en;q=0.8 Connection:keep-alive Cookie:__RequestVerificationToken=IVQC6UfcZXZDWtQudhydPKY2Octu50QHRRkL0W_1AUN51wZMJZn2rb4cRJxk651SxVuKU51WAqW4OhoAGzp5nm_sa6J9lxy4TJnIOxQ3sjBIVD1mc_sj_GrHeyx2S2NG5QfVhFuZ8TX_nUNdIef3SQ2; ASP.NET_SessionId=rwox4gxvn123hr01h3ny1tav; __utma=35682239.1838924903.1391774601.1413881831.1413885428.431; __utmb=35682239.3.10.1413885428; __utmc=35682239; __utmz=35682239.1413800641.426.9.utmcsr=payments.northdevon.gov.uk|utmccn=(referral)|utmcmd=referral|utmcct=/ Host:new..uk User-Agent:Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/38.0.2125.104 Safari/537.36 Response Headersview source Cache-Control:private Content-Length:29806 Content-Type:text/html; charset=utf-8 Date:Tue, 21 Oct 2014 10:07:50 GMT SERVER:

    have no idea how BuiltWith http://builtwith.com/ finds out

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12135 karma points MVP 9x admin c-trib
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 12:28
    Dave Woestenborghs
    0

    No clue what it uses to detect Umbraco. 

    On my sites it detects some and some it doesn't. 

    dave

  • Steve Wilkinson 132 posts 211 karma points
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 12:39
    Steve Wilkinson
    0

    Glad it's not just me then! :-D

  • Dan Diplo 1554 posts 6205 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 23:38
    Dan Diplo
    0

    It's possible BuiltWith checks to see if a path exists at /umbraco/ - but you can change this path in web.config with the following key in appSettings:

    <add key="umbracoPath" value="~/umbraco" />

    However, be warned that there may well be hardcoded references in places in your code, 3rd party code or even the source.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft