Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Christoffer Lilja 5 posts 25 karma points
    May 10, 2015 @ 12:38
    Christoffer Lilja

List news on startpage using grid editor

First of all I'm completely new to Umbraco, so please bare with me.

I'm using the Fanoe starterkit and I'm trying to display some of the blog-posts on the startpage. To do this I created a grid edit control, made it possible to add it to a grid row configuration and added it to the startpage.

So far so good but I can't figure out how to query the api to get and display the blog-pages. I'd like to use the same layout as the blogoverview.cshtml

If I do

var test = Model.Content.Children.Single(x => x.DocumentTypeAlias == "BlogPostRepository");

I get

Cannot use lambda expression as an argument to a dynamically dispatched operation without first casting it to a delegate or expression tree type

I've also tried different version of Model.AncestorOrSelf(1) without any luck.

Would you do it like this or is it a better way?

I've read and followed

• Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    May 10, 2015 @ 13:26
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Christoffer and welcome to our,

Since you are using Umbraco 7.2 you can use the query builder when you are in a template. It´s the last button on the ribbon, see the picture below,

You can see this Razor snippet to show blogposts on your home template, you can do it directly into your homepage template. or in a partial view or partial view macro file.

@{
        var selection = CurrentPage.Site().FirstChild("BlogPostRepository").Children("BlogPost").Where("Visible");
    }
    <ul>
        @foreach(var item in selection){
            <li>
                <a href="@item.Url">@item.Name</a>
            </li>
        }
    </ul>

Hope this helps,

/Dennis

May 10, 2015 @ 14:50
    Christoffer Lilja