Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Ayo Adesina 445 posts 1059 karma points
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 14:50
    Ayo Adesina
    0

    How to get the String value of a Umbraco.DropDown

    Im trying to get the value that was selected in the back office, the filed is a Umbraco.DropDown which was datatype defined in the developer section

    private void ContentServiceSaved(IContentService sender, Umbraco.Core.Events.SaveEventArgs<IContent> e)
            {
    
                var cs = new ContentService();
                foreach (var myNode in e.SavedEntities.Where(x => x.HasProperty("myProperty")))
                {
       var x = myNode.GetValue("myOtherProperty");
    // x ends up being a number 55 I want the drop down string  value
    }
    
  • Ayo Adesina 445 posts 1059 karma points
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 15:05
    Ayo Adesina
    1

    This worked for me :-)

    String selectedTextVal = umbraco.library.GetPreValueAsString(int.Parse(myNode.GetValue("myOtherProperty").ToString()));
    
  • Kyle Weems 42 posts 296 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 16:40
    Kyle Weems
    0

    For those trying to do this in Umbraco 7, I had the following solution. (Spread out into multiple lines for readability).

    var propertyValue = myNode.getPropertyValue("myOtherProperty").ToString();
    var propertyIntValue = int.Parse(propertyValue);
    var selectedTextValue = Umbraco.GetPreValueAsString(propertyIntValue);
    

    There might be a cleaner way to do it, but this gets me the desired string value for a dropdown or radio button list data type.

  • Aki 43 posts 214 karma points
    Oct 27, 2017 @ 08:21
    Aki
    1

    you could do it like this is Umbraco 7

    var selectedTextValue = umbraco.library.GetPreValueAsString(myNode.getValue<int>("myOtherProperty"));
    
  • Ajju 25 posts 148 karma points
    Feb 13, 2018 @ 10:04
    Ajju
    0

    Hello Aki,

    I would like to list in frontend, Dropdown prevalues added in backoffice.

    I hope what you have give, is for the selected item

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies