Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jan 4 posts 75 karma points
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:27
    Jan

RenderTemplate with specific folders / ViewLocationFormats

Hi there,

my name is Jan I'm new in using Umbraco. :)

I try to use subfolders for my templates (views) and this is why I'm registering these folders in "ViewLocationFormats" at the application start.

It works fine for automatically rendered templates (just calling the URL) but does not when I'm calling Umbraco.RenderTemplate (nodeID) inside a template by razor code.

Has anyone an idea that could help me? Maybe I'm doing something wrong or there is an alternative to "RenderTemplate".

Thanks in advance!

Jan

• Marc Goodson 2147 posts 14351 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 22:10
    Marc Goodson

Hi Jan

Are you using MVC Views ?

Html.Partial("PartialViewName")

or

Html.Partial("~/pathto/partialview.cshtml")

should render a partial view in a template.

If you want to render a 'different template view' for the content other than the one it is published under, you can use ?altTemplate=othertemplatealias in the querystring

eg

/hompage/news?altTemplate=altNewsListing

would load the news page node with the altNewsListing template

furthermore so would:

/homepage/news/altNewsListing

this is default behaviour for versions of Umbraco, but can be turned off in umbracoSettings.config for versions 7.2.*

by disabling alternative templates

eg:

<web.routing
        trySkipIisCustomErrors="false"
        internalRedirectPreservesTemplate="false" disableAlternativeTemplates="false" disableFindContentByIdPath="false"
        umbracoApplicationUrl="">
      </web.routing>

Sep 03, 2015 @ 16:17
    Jan

Hi Marc,

thank you very much for your answer.

The view is generated by Umbraco and I just moved it to my subfolder. In the view I iterate through the child nodes.