Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• James Woodley 9 posts 29 karma points
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 12:38
    James Woodley

Authentication Providers and Blog Providers

Hi all,

I am a complete Umbraco newbie and have a couple of questions that I can't quite work out using Umbraco.tv or the Documentation provided.

Firstly, I notice Umbraco uses the ASP.Net User System, so the System.Identity namespace...is this a complete port? I.E I don't use any Umbraco methods when authenticating a user in my site, I literally stick to the ASP.Net system?

Secondly, blogs. I am told Umbraco has blog software built in..is this something that has to be installed after the core Umbraco is installed, and how do I get posts/categories yadda yadda into it from my front end software?

Thanks guys, your help is very very much appreciated!

James

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 12:51
    Dirk De Grave

James,

umbraco has a built-in membership provider which derives from the default asp.net membership provider, so you can use any of the asp.net login functionalities in your front end. So, whenever you're using an asp.net login control on the frontend, it will use the umbraco membership provider for authentication of the member. Other example: if you need members to register, use the standard asp.net CreateUserWizard (All you need to verify is that you've set up a member group (and the name of the group should be in the web.config))

More info on membership stuff here 

Blogs can be installed from the repository, just browse the developer section, expand the Packages node, and either install blog package from package repo or install local package (if you've downloaded it first)

Hope this helps.

/Dirk

Mar 17, 2010 @ 12:53
    Dirk De Grave

web.config configuration to use umbraco membership provider