Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jacob Buus 6 posts 27 karma points
    May 01, 2010 @ 21:08
    Jacob Buus

Using LINQ-to-SQL with user controls

I'm completely new to Umbraco - and I must say; I'm VERY impressed! :)

However - I've been trying out the different features in the newest release of Umbraco and stumbled across a small problem. 
    I've created an .NET Web Application and added an user control to the solution. I want this user control to be able to retrieve products from my database using a ProductController-class - which the uses LINQ-to-SQL to retrieve the products. No problem so far - it works like a charm in Visual Studio. 

The problem arises when I try to use my newly created user control within Umbraco. I can easily add my new user control but when I try to run the page I get an "Object reference not set to an instance of an object"-exception - logically enough seeing as how my user control can no longer retrieve my connectionstring etc. from the web.config file, and hence no data can be retrieved.  

My question is - what's the best practice approach for using LINQ-to-SQL in my user controls for use with Umbraco?

It would really save my day if somebody could give me an example of how I could get this working :)

• Jesper Hauge 298 posts 487 karma points c-trib
    May 01, 2010 @ 21:24
    Jesper Hauge

There shouldn't be any problems retrieving anything from web.config from usercontrols. You can hand-edit the file and upload it to your site, as you please.

Does your umbraco site use the same connection string (same database) as your development environment? If not - it is not enough to change the string in web.config since the linq-to-sql classes uses a connection string stored in a settings file, and doesn't read the string from the config file at run-time.