Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Nick 19 posts 39 karma points
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 02:51
    Nick
    0

    How to change Document conteny Type using Event handler

    I am trying to change content type of document using Event handler. I have tried before and after publish method but dosent seem to work..

     

     ipublic ContentEvent()
            {
          //      Document.AfterPublish += new Document.PublishEventHandler(Document_AfterPublish);
                Document.BeforePublish += new Document.PublishEventHandler(Document_BeforePublish);
            }

          

            void Document_BeforePublish(Document sender, umbraco.cms.businesslogic.PublishEventArgs e)
            {
                if (sender.ContentType.MasterContentType == 1085)
                {
                    User myUser = User.GetUser(0);
                    //string status = sender.getProperty("status").Value.ToString();
                    umbraco.cms.businesslogic.ContentType ct = new umbraco.cms.businesslogic.ContentType(1107);
                    sender.ContentType = ct;
                    sender.ContentType.Save();
                    sender.Save();
                    umbraco.library.UpdateDocumentCache(sender.Id);
                    // sender.Publish(myUser);

                }

            }

    Thats the code Ihave used..I tried that code in afterPublish as well but didnt work..Can anyone help me with that?

     

     

     

     

  • Nick 19 posts 39 karma points
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 03:42
    Nick
    0

    I tired this code as well

     

    public class ContentEvent : ApplicationBase
        {
            public int published { get; set; }
            public ContentEvent()
            {
                Document.AfterPublish += new Document.PublishEventHandler(Document_AfterPublish);
            //    Document.BeforePublish += new Document.PublishEventHandler(Document_BeforePublish);
            }

         

            void Document_BeforePublish(Document sender, umbraco.cms.businesslogic.PublishEventArgs e)
            {
                if (sender.ContentType.MasterContentType == 1085)
                {
                    User myUser = User.GetUser(0);
                    //string status = sender.getProperty("status").Value.ToString();
                    umbraco.cms.businesslogic.ContentType ct = new umbraco.cms.businesslogic.ContentType(1105);
                    sender.ContentType = ct;
                    sender.ContentType.Save();
                    sender.Save();
                    umbraco.library.UpdateDocumentCache(sender.Id);
                    //sender.Publish(myUser);

                }

            }

            void Document_AfterPublish(Document sender, umbraco.cms.businesslogic.PublishEventArgs e)
            {
                if (published != 1)
                {
                    if (sender.ContentType.MasterContentType == 1085)
                    {
                        User myUser = User.GetUser(4);
                        //string status = sender.getProperty("status").Value.ToString();
                        umbraco.cms.businesslogic.ContentType ct = new umbraco.cms.businesslogic.ContentType(1105);
                        sender.ContentType = ct;
                        //sender.ContentType.Save();
                        //sender.m
                        sender.Save();
                        published = 1;
                        //umbraco.library.UpdateDocumentCache(sender.Id);
                        sender.Publish(myUser);

                    }
                }

            }
        }
    }

  • Aaron Powell 1708 posts 3046 karma points c-trib
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 05:26
    Aaron Powell
    0

    You can't change the content type per-say, the only way to go about it is to create a new document, copy the content across and delete the old one.

    I'm pretty sure that's how this package works: http://our.umbraco.org/projects/developer-tools/doc-type-extensions

  • Nick 19 posts 39 karma points
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 06:40
    Nick
    0

    hmmm..cool...thanks

  • Nick 19 posts 39 karma points
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 07:20
    Nick
    0

    I found the solution..I wanted to change the Icon of the node base on coniditon and i thought only way is to change content type base on condition.

    but then realised that i can use BaseTree_BeforeNodeRender and change the Icon on the fly

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies