Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alex 21 posts 41 karma points
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 19:26
    Alex

Inserting small piece of data into content

Hi all,

I'm new to Umbraco so please be gentle!

I have the need to insert a small piece of data - for example a telephone number retrieved from a .NET session variable - into content. I tried doing this by using a User Control macro but when inserting the the macro into the RTE the CMS decided to use a <div>. I don't want the phone number to be in a block level element, in fact I want it to be inside a <p> tag. How do I change the this macro <div> to something better, like a <span> ?

Should I even be using a macro to do this? Is there a better way to insert snippets of data like this into content? 

Many Thanks,

Alex

• Morten Bock 1867 posts 2140 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 20:16
    Morten Bock

I never found a really good, simple, way of doing that. As you mention, the macros don't work well when trying to write inline text. What I would tend to do is to make some sort of syntax for inserting text snippets like {{phoneNumber}} and then either do some replacing in the template, or maybe even hook in a httpModule to parse the entire html output for placeholders, and inserting the correct data.

So the solution depends a bit on what sort of development you want to be doing.

• Bogdan 250 posts 427 karma points
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 20:19
    Bogdan

Hi Alex,