Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tom Steer 24 posts 44 karma points
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 11:18
    Tom Steer

Custom Table for Document Type Properties

Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to umbraco but i must say i'm loving it already :)

I thinking about using it for a project i have at the moment (B&B Booking System) but i had a quick question.

For the different rooms i was planning on using a document type and naming it room.

Would it be possible to save the properties from this document in a custom table in the database?

Cheers :)

Tommyflint

• Sascha Wolter 615 posts 1101 karma points
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 11:54
    Sascha Wolter

Hi Tom,

this is definitely possible, the easiest way is probably to hook up to the document publish event and save/update the details to your custom database when a Room type gets published (see the video tutorials for more info).

However the question is why you want to do that in the first place? If you need other systems to retrieve this information from your website you can write web services for that, if you want to extract the information or have a customized overview you can put together e.g. a dashboard in the backend. If you let us know your intentions there might be a better way to achieve what you have in mind. :)

Sascha

Oct 21, 2010 @ 12:47
    Tom Steer

Hi Sascha,

Thanks for the reply

Well basically what I indend to do is have a two different document types one for sites e.g. different B&B's and one for rooms which can be childs of the sites

My intial reason for maybe having it in a seperate table is during the booking process i need to access data about that room for example what the mininum number of nights that room can be booked for and or the pricing for that room etc... its probably becuase i'm not eniterly sure of the umbraco data structure and how easy it would be to retrive this data once at the booking stage.

Cheers