Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:10
    Christo
    0

    Rebuild Examine Index

    Hi there,

    is there a way to explicitly rebuld the examine index?

    I deleted the examine index-directory,  restartet IIS & the app-pool and exmine will generate its new directories with

    /Index

    and

    /Queue

     

    in it and generates the .exa and .lck files BUT the queue remains empty and so the index will not be refreshed.

    shuoldn't it generate a .add file in the queue for each node in the CMS? Why does this not happen? Any Ideas?

     

     

    therse are my settings from the examinesettings file:

     

         <add name="MyIndexer" type="UmbracoExamine.MemberLuceneExamineIndexer, UmbracoExamine"
                    runAsync="true"
                    supportUnpublished="false"
                    supportProtected="true"
                    interval="60"
                    analyzer="Lucene.Net.Analysis.Standard.StandardAnalyzer, Lucene.Net"
                    indexSet="MyIndexSet"/>

     

     

    and

     

          <add name="MySearcher" type="UmbracoExamine.LuceneExamineSearcher, UmbracoExamine"
            analyzer="Lucene.Net.Analysis.Standard.StandardAnalyzer, Lucene.Net" enableLeadingWildcards="true"
            indexSet="MyIndexSet"/>

     

    and the ones in the examineIndex.config:


      <IndexSet SetName="MyIndexSet" IndexPath="~/data/ExamineIndexes/de/MyIndexSet/" IndexParentId="2077">

       
        <IndexAttributeFields>
          <add Name="id" />
          <!-- REQUIRED -->
          <add Name="nodeName" />
          <!-- REQUIRED -->
          <add Name="updateDate" />
          <add Name="releaseDate" />
          <add Name="contentDate" />
          <add Name="writerName" />
          <add Name="path" />
          <add Name="nodeTypeAlias" />
          <!-- REQUIRED -->
          <add Name="parentID"/>
          <add Name="niceUrl"/>
          <add Name="umbracoNiceUrl"/>
          <add Name="version"/>
          <add Name="pressId"/>
          <add Name="isAdHoc"/>

        </IndexAttributeFields>
        <IndexUserFields />
        <IncludeNodeTypes />
        <ExcludeNodeTypes />
      </IndexSet>

     

    I run Umbraco 4.5.2 and Examine 1.0

     

    Kind regards

    Christo

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:32
    Christo
    0

    ok, i have it:

    <add name="MyIndexer" type="UmbracoExamine.MemberLuceneExamineIndexer, UmbracoExamine"...

     is wrong. it's pointing to the wrong indexer. should be:

    LuceneExamineIndexer  instead ( too much copy&paste i guess :-)

     

  • Lee Kelleher 3995 posts 15625 karma points MVP 12x admin c-trib
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 18:44
    Lee Kelleher
    0

    Hi Christo,

    As far as I'm aware, to rebuild the Examine/Lucene index, you'll need to republish at least one of the content nodes - hopefully that should kick-start it?

    Cheers, Lee.

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 09:42
    Christo
    0

    Thats true, or just empty up the index folder. But anyway, my mistake was a wrong configuration, which didn't let the indexing start. 

     

    thanks

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10062 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 10:17
    Ismail Mayat
    4

    Christo,

    I knocked together a little utility you can grab it here extract the files to your usercontrols directory then in your dashboard.config add the following:

     <section id="developer">
        <areas>
          <area>developer</area>
        </areas>
        <tab caption="Umbraco examine">
          <control>/usercontrols/ExamineIndexAdmin.ascx</control>
        </tab>
    
      </section>

    When you log into the backend under developer section all your indexes will be listed with a button to rebuild next to it, clicking that will fire up the rebuild process.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 10:19
    Christo
    0

    Hey thats a smart idea Ismail

    thanks - I'll give it a try

  • Chad Rosenthal 272 posts 474 karma points
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 15:31
    Chad Rosenthal
    0

    Ismail -

    It'd be great if you could get that on the our.umbraco.org. It's really helpful, and I'm sure a ton of people could use it.

    -C

     

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10062 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 17:47
    Ismail Mayat
    1

    Chad,

    Released as package see http://our.umbraco.org/projects/backoffice-extensions/examine-index-admin dont forget to vote if you like it.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 01:41
    Christo
    1

    So the magic is done by:

    ExamineManager.Instance.IndexProviderCollection[indexToRebuild].RebuildIndex();

    that's exactly what I  was looking for.

     

    thanks Ismail

     

  • Matt Taylor 870 posts 2083 karma points
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 12:09
    Matt Taylor
    0

    Thanks for this package.

    I installed it after I added a new value to ExcludeNodeTypes in the ExamineIndex.config but found the pages of the type I had added were still being found in the search.

    I rebuilt the index as instructed but found that no search results would appear until I had performed a publish of the home node and all its subpages.

    Is that right?

    I'm still finding my way about Examine.

    Thanks.

     

  • Aximili 177 posts 278 karma points
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 06:25
    Aximili
    0

    Thanks Ismail it works!

    I am wondering, why doesn't Umbraco update the indexes automatically when you edit and publish content..??

  • Andrew Bright 71 posts 231 karma points
    Mar 22, 2017 @ 13:23
    Andrew Bright
    0

    I am trying to implement ExamineManager.Instance.IndexProviderCollection[indexToRebuild].RebuildIndex();

    When the site loads due to issue:

    https://our.umbraco.org/forum/using-umbraco-and-getting-started/84748-examine-not-rebuilding-after-cmsimport

    Can this be done please?

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft