Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:10
    Christo
    0

    Rebuild Examine Index

    Hi there,

    is there a way to explicitly rebuld the examine index?

    I deleted the examine index-directory,  restartet IIS & the app-pool and exmine will generate its new directories with

    /Index

    and

    /Queue

     

    in it and generates the .exa and .lck files BUT the queue remains empty and so the index will not be refreshed.

    shuoldn't it generate a .add file in the queue for each node in the CMS? Why does this not happen? Any Ideas?

     

     

    therse are my settings from the examinesettings file:

     

         <add name="MyIndexer" type="UmbracoExamine.MemberLuceneExamineIndexer, UmbracoExamine"
                    runAsync="true"
                    supportUnpublished="false"
                    supportProtected="true"
                    interval="60"
                    analyzer="Lucene.Net.Analysis.Standard.StandardAnalyzer, Lucene.Net"
                    indexSet="MyIndexSet"/>

     

     

    and

     

          <add name="MySearcher" type="UmbracoExamine.LuceneExamineSearcher, UmbracoExamine"
            analyzer="Lucene.Net.Analysis.Standard.StandardAnalyzer, Lucene.Net" enableLeadingWildcards="true"
            indexSet="MyIndexSet"/>

     

    and the ones in the examineIndex.config:


      <IndexSet SetName="MyIndexSet" IndexPath="~/data/ExamineIndexes/de/MyIndexSet/" IndexParentId="2077">

       
        <IndexAttributeFields>
          <add Name="id" />
          <!-- REQUIRED -->
          <add Name="nodeName" />
          <!-- REQUIRED -->
          <add Name="updateDate" />
          <add Name="releaseDate" />
          <add Name="contentDate" />
          <add Name="writerName" />
          <add Name="path" />
          <add Name="nodeTypeAlias" />
          <!-- REQUIRED -->
          <add Name="parentID"/>
          <add Name="niceUrl"/>
          <add Name="umbracoNiceUrl"/>
          <add Name="version"/>
          <add Name="pressId"/>
          <add Name="isAdHoc"/>

        </IndexAttributeFields>
        <IndexUserFields />
        <IncludeNodeTypes />
        <ExcludeNodeTypes />
      </IndexSet>

     

    I run Umbraco 4.5.2 and Examine 1.0

     

    Kind regards

    Christo

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:32
    Christo
    0

    ok, i have it:

    <add name="MyIndexer" type="UmbracoExamine.MemberLuceneExamineIndexer, UmbracoExamine"...

     is wrong. it's pointing to the wrong indexer. should be:

    LuceneExamineIndexer  instead ( too much copy&paste i guess :-)

     

  • Lee Kelleher 4026 posts 15837 karma points MVP 13x admin c-trib
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 18:44
    Lee Kelleher
    0

    Hi Christo,

    As far as I'm aware, to rebuild the Examine/Lucene index, you'll need to republish at least one of the content nodes - hopefully that should kick-start it?

    Cheers, Lee.

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 09:42
    Christo
    0

    Thats true, or just empty up the index folder. But anyway, my mistake was a wrong configuration, which didn't let the indexing start. 

     

    thanks

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 10:17
    Ismail Mayat
    4

    Christo,

    I knocked together a little utility you can grab it here extract the files to your usercontrols directory then in your dashboard.config add the following:

     <section id="developer">
        <areas>
          <area>developer</area>
        </areas>
        <tab caption="Umbraco examine">
          <control>/usercontrols/ExamineIndexAdmin.ascx</control>
        </tab>
    
      </section>

    When you log into the backend under developer section all your indexes will be listed with a button to rebuild next to it, clicking that will fire up the rebuild process.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 10:19
    Christo
    0

    Hey thats a smart idea Ismail

    thanks - I'll give it a try

  • Chad Rosenthal 272 posts 474 karma points
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 15:31
    Chad Rosenthal
    0

    Ismail -

    It'd be great if you could get that on the our.umbraco.org. It's really helpful, and I'm sure a ton of people could use it.

    -C

     

  • Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10092 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 17:47
    Ismail Mayat
    1

    Chad,

    Released as package see http://our.umbraco.org/projects/backoffice-extensions/examine-index-admin dont forget to vote if you like it.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Christo 23 posts 44 karma points
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 01:41
    Christo
    1

    So the magic is done by:

    ExamineManager.Instance.IndexProviderCollection[indexToRebuild].RebuildIndex();

    that's exactly what I  was looking for.

     

    thanks Ismail

     

  • Matt Taylor 873 posts 2086 karma points
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 12:09
    Matt Taylor
    0

    Thanks for this package.

    I installed it after I added a new value to ExcludeNodeTypes in the ExamineIndex.config but found the pages of the type I had added were still being found in the search.

    I rebuilt the index as instructed but found that no search results would appear until I had performed a publish of the home node and all its subpages.

    Is that right?

    I'm still finding my way about Examine.

    Thanks.

     

  • Aximili 177 posts 278 karma points
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 06:25
    Aximili
    0

    Thanks Ismail it works!

    I am wondering, why doesn't Umbraco update the indexes automatically when you edit and publish content..??

  • Andrew Bright 84 posts 244 karma points
    Mar 22, 2017 @ 13:23
    Andrew Bright
    0

    I am trying to implement ExamineManager.Instance.IndexProviderCollection[indexToRebuild].RebuildIndex();

    When the site loads due to issue:

    https://our.umbraco.org/forum/using-umbraco-and-getting-started/84748-examine-not-rebuilding-after-cmsimport

    Can this be done please?

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies