Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jason 5 posts 25 karma points
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 18:03
    Jason

Umbraco 4.6.1 and Tree node names vs page URLs

Hi all, 

This is my first post, so I want to start by saying I am very new to Umbraco but I already thoroughly love this product.  I would greatly apprectiate some advice on how to potentially solve a puzzle I've encountered.  

Please forgive me if this is overly wordy, but given my relative lack of knowledge of Umbraco and it's common terminolgy I want to try to be as clear as possible.  I suspect my problem can be solved 16 different ways, so I guess I'm looking for advice on which might be the most adventagious way to go.  

Umbraco, by default, appears to work in such a way that the "node name" in the content tree is tied directly to the subsequent urlrewrite page name that you see in the browser address bar.

So if in my content tree I have the following pages defined:

When I browse to the "Leadership" page, my URL looks like this:

http://my.website.com/about-us/leadership.aspx

For SEO Reasons, I have been asked to make the url for the "Leadership page" look something like this instead: 

http://my.website.com/about-us/cityname-companyname-leadership-team.aspx

I've done enough research so far to know I could:

• change the name of the node to "cityname-companyname-leadership-team" (which is very ugly as you can see)
    • configure the built in urlrewrite logic to translate the node "Leadership" to "cityname-companyname-leadership-team."  This one is compelling and I might fall back on this, but I would have to add a new rewrite rule for every single page whenever my customers add a new page to their website.
    I have thought of two ideal solutions, but I have no idea if it's realistic or maybe there is a much simpler solution and I'm making this way to hard on myself.  They look like this: