Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3451 karma points c-trib
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 12:28
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Get Parent Node(s) in Custom DataType

    I have a custom datatype using umbraco user control wrapper which is used in both front and back end. In the backend I need to walk up the tree to find the closest node that has a specific property set and set that as the selected item in my datatype - any ideas?

    I understand I can use umbraco.library.GetXmlNodeById(Request.QueryString["id"]) to get the current node but not sure where to go from here?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks, Simon

  • Comment author was deleted

    Mar 31, 2009 @ 12:35

    I suggest you use

    umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web.Document

    Fetch the current

    umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web.Document current = new umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web.Document((int)Request.QueryString["id"]);

    and then use a while loop to look for the closest node with the specific property set

  • Comment author was deleted

    Mar 31, 2009 @ 12:37

    loop will look something like

    umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web.Document parent = current.parent;

    while(parent.getProperty("propertyalias").value == null)
    {
    parent = parent.parent;
    }

  • Peter Gregory 408 posts 1614 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 12:38
    Peter Gregory
    0

    Tim beat me to it. I was going to say use umbraco.cms.businesslogic.Content and use the parent property on that. But Document Inherits from Content so its the same thing really.

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3451 karma points c-trib
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 13:18
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Tim, thanks for the pointer which has got me to a working solution.

    [code] Document currentDoc = new Document(Convert.ToInt32(Request.QueryString["id"]));

    while (currentDoc.getProperty("Branch") == null)
    {
    currentDoc = new Document(currentDoc.Parent.Id);
    }[/code]

    currentDoc.Parent returns a CMSNode and not another document so my question now is how efficient is the above workaround and is there a better way of achieving the same?

  • Peter Gregory 408 posts 1614 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 13:57
    Peter Gregory
    0

    From my little play around there doesnt seem to be a efficient way other than creating a new document from the CMSNode.Id.

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3451 karma points c-trib
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 15:41
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Thanks for looking Peter

  • Daniel Lindstrom 454 posts 271 karma points
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 09:25
    Daniel Lindstrom
    0

    Hello

    Is Simons solution still the prefered way of doing this? 

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies