Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 13:22
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Problems using a Macro for Content Template

    I am building a macro for the purposes of allowing editors to input preformatted content into a site but I am having a few issues.

    The macro accepts 3 params:

    1. Description(textMultiLine)
    2. Image(mediaCurrent)
    3. ContentNode (contentPicker)

    My XSLT at the moment is as follows and really only for testing purpose:

    [code]
    ]>

    version="1.0"
    xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
    xmlns:msxml="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt"
    xmlns:umbraco.library="urn:umbraco.library"
    exclude-result-prefixes="msxml umbraco.library">











    [/code]

    At the moment I am getting the line break characters '\r\n' in the description string with output escaping on or off and I get no path for the image file however the image object is present since if I output $Image I get the string of data associated with the image.

    Am I missing something really obvious or just having a dumb day?

  • Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 14:59
    Dirk De Grave
    0

    Hi,

    Seen this post? http://forum.umbraco.org/yafpostst8317Linebreaks-appear-in-parameters.aspx
    Might be the solution to the multiline parameter issue.

    As for the image stuff, would it help not to have a space between $Image and '/'?

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,
    /Dirk


  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 15:07
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Thanks Dirk however it seems a bit extreme as I am guessing this will turn Tidy off across the site, I'm wondering if there is another way of implementing what I am trying to achieve?

    Removing the space after $Image had no effect - this is a strange one!

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 15:19
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Just remembered that I have the following template saved from another project.
    [code]
    [/code]

    This gets around the line breaking issue.

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 17:06
    Simon Dingley
    0

    So...no progress! What I don't understand is why this:

    [code][/code]

    Gives me this:

    [code][/code]

    And this:

    [code][/code]

    Gives me:

    [code][/code]

  • dandrayne 1138 posts 2262 karma points
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 17:38
    dandrayne
    0

    Mediacurrent is a bit... odd.

    try this

    [code]

    [/code]

    paramname and mediaCurrentAlias should be changed to your xslt parameter and macro paramater alias of course

  • dandrayne 1138 posts 2262 karma points
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 17:45
    dandrayne
    0

    should add, it's helpful to use to see the xml being returned from a given query, it helps to use this to construct the right xpath

    Also, for linebreaks in textboxes you can use

    [code]

    [/code]

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 17:47
    Simon Dingley
    0

    I just solved it thanks to this post:

    http://forum.umbraco.org/yafpostst6295MediaCurrent-in-macro.aspx

    Mediacurrent certainly is odd and certainly confusing!

    Here is my final working XSLT:



    It won't render the image in the RTE though - another problem for another day!

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 17:56
    Simon Dingley
    0

    [quote=ddrayne]Mediacurrent is a bit... odd.

    try this

    [code]

    [/code]

    paramname and mediaCurrentAlias should be changed to your xslt parameter and macro paramater alias of course

    [/quote]

    The problem is that this replaces all the line breaks with
    . There were no line breaks in the original copy it is the multi-line textbox that is assuming line breaks when it reaches the end of the line.

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 17:57
    Simon Dingley
    0

    [quote=ddrayne]should add, it's helpful to use to see the xml being returned from a given query, it helps to use this to construct the right xpath

    Also, for linebreaks in textboxes you can use

    [code]

    [/code][/quote]

    The problem is that this replaces all the line breaks with
    . There were no line breaks in the original copy it is the multi-line textbox that is assuming line breaks when it reaches the end of the line

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft