Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 20:24
    Kristian
    0

    How to add a Service Reference to Scriptmanager

    Hi everyone,

    I have a UserControl i have developed and it calls a webservice (ASMX) which returns some data.

    It works fine when I'm trying it in my WEB project. The Masterpage on my webpage has a ServiceReference to the webservice.

    I have copied the usercontrol to umbraco and it works except of it can't find the webservice method. I don't know how to add it and where?

    Tried to add a new scriptmanager to the masterpage of the template but doesn't work.

    PLEASE HELP!

     

     

  • Rodion Novoselov 694 posts 859 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:03
    Rodion Novoselov
    0

    Hi, Kristian. I believe it's exactly what you're looking for:
     http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.web.ui.scriptmanagerproxy.aspx

  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:13
    Kristian
    0

     

     

    H is still not working :(/

     

     

     

     

     

  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:15
    Kristian
    0

    The webservice file is located in the route of the webpage   c:\inetpub\wwwroot\GetUserDetails.asmx  

    I have no clue how to fix this now.

     

    Do I need to add a scriptmanager somewhere?

     

  • Rodion Novoselov 694 posts 859 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:24
    Rodion Novoselov
    0

    It looks like a javascript error caused by missing some namespace. I would recommend to try to set InlineScript="true" for the ServiceReference and than to skim through the generated html (if everything is all right there should be generated javascript proxy objects for the web service). 

  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:26
    Kristian
    0

    Ok,

    I will try that.. It works fine on my local project and there is no Namespace..

     

    Thanks for trying to help me!

  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:28
    Kristian
    0

    I had this problem with the javascript when i remove the script reference from the scriptmanager.

    But it won't work in umbraco so I think there is some problemn with the scriptmanager.

    Do I need to add an scriptmanager somewhere or are it already added to some default masterpage?

  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 21:36
    Kristian
    0

    I think I got a bit further..

    I added a scriptmanager to my page and kept the scriptmanagerproxy in the usercontrol

    Now it complained that the /App_Code/GetUserDetails.vb was missing.


    I added the file and now it complains that is not written in C#

     

    The files '/App_Code/XSLTsearch.cs' and '/App_Code/GetUserDetails.vb' use a different language, which is not allowed since they need to be compiled together.

  • Kristian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 22:25
    Kristian
    0

    I manage to fix it now.

     

    Added 

    <codeSubDirectories>

    <add directoryName="CSCode"></add>

    <add directoryName="VBCode"></add>

     

    </codeSubDirectories>

    in web.config under compilation.

    Now it worked fine!

     

    THx again!

  • acasado 3 posts 23 karma points
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 18:12
    acasado
    0

    Hi Kristian.

    Could you explain me where did you add the scriptmanager and how it was formed?

    I think that the scriptmanger must be alocated on "parent" page that contain the usercontrol, and the scriptManagerProxy must be alocated into the usercontrol, but i tryed that and it doesn't work.

    Thanks

  • Rodion Novoselov 694 posts 859 karma points
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 20:58
    Rodion Novoselov
    0

    Hi, Acasado. A ScriptManager can be actually placed anywhere, but there's a strict rule that there can be only one ScriptManager for the whole page (including any masterpages and child controls). A ScriptManagerProxy is for somehow to ease this restriction (for example if you already have a ScriptManager on the page but you need some specific script or web service references in a control that's going to be used on the same page). Personally I follow the pattern that if my project uses MS Ajax then I simply place a ScriptManager on the top-level master page so that not to burden myself with placing it on any page or a user control where it's required and resolving potential conflicts with having it twice on the same page accidently.

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies