Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Arthur 5 posts 25 karma points
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 19:38
    Arthur

Were do i start from to create a "Personal Page" extension?

Hey,

I’m fairly new to Umbraco development. I have a lot of experience in .NET C# MVC and so on ...
    I want to set up a Personal Pages and i broke it down into several tasks:

1. Manage users and groups (and not allow them to login to the Umbraco management pages) 

• Learn how to manage users in Umbraco (maybe allow for self-registration)
    • Learn how to assign users into groups

2. Modify the master template

• Add a login\ password area
    • Manage login process (if not managed by Umbraco already)
    • Learn how to check if a user is logged in and find out who it is and to which group does he belong
    • Add code to redirect the user to a personal page when a link to the personal page is clicked

3. Management System

• Create all the infrastructure so that the webmaster could add users\ groups an assign users to groups
    • Associate each page (or a set of linked pages) with a certain group

I did understood that there are templates that are used to create al sorts of pages, and there are other Document Types that could be defined so that I could access use them and their properties later to write down my code.. I also saw some users that could be added and managed by branches but I’m not sure that i can prevent them from logging into the management back-office of my Umbraco installation.

My question is where I start. If I had to create this all by myself I would not have any trouble but it's my first project using Umbraco.

1. I would be glad if you could point me to a good source of examples or learning material.
    2. It would be very helpful if you could tell me what to look for to accomplish the task I wrote

• Richard Brookes 34 posts 57 karma points
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 10:17