Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mark Kneasel 22 posts 43 karma points
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 17:46
    Mark Kneasel

Reusable MVC Controls

First I will start off by saying I am new to Umbraco and even newer to MVC (currently only use web forms). My company will have several Umbraco sites in the future of which some will share the same forms. So with that in mind what is the best way to have those forms in one project and then use them in each Umbraco site?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 18:49
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Mark and welcome to our :)

How are the sites managed today? (Are they administered from one CMS instance, or does each site have it's own CMS?) and how big are they in terms of visits and pages on the site?

I'll get into more details once I know more about your current setup.

Cheers, Jan

Apr 10, 2014 @ 18:54
    Mark Kneasel

The sites all reside in their own CMS instance. Right now they are in an old CMS. We are currently redoing them all in a responsive design with Umbraco as the new CMS. As far as visits, they are very seasonal. Higher visits in Spring and Summer due to content. The first site are doing is small probably less than 50 pages, but some of the other could have 1000 our more pages. The kind of things that are shared across sites now in user controls are contact forms, newsletter signup forms, a spreader setting form all with connections to custom databases. Let me know if you have any other questions. I think I have an OK grasp on Umbraco but MVC is a struggle now and then trying to create these reusable "controls" in MVC is stumping me.

Thanks for your help

Apr 10, 2014 @ 19:05
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Mark

Ok...the way I see it you could have more sites in one Umbraco instance or you could have multiple Umbraco instances.