Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Anne Gilmore 15 posts 66 karma points
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 14:22
    Anne Gilmore

Dynamically populating content dropdowns with content data

Hi

I need to populate dropdowns that appear in the content area with dynamic data rather than static lists. As I am new to Umbraco I felt that there might be someone out there who has already managed to do this, or who can offer some Sage advice - I can't seem to find anything that quite fits.

Below is the basic tree structure where all regions, resorts and accommodations are unique, but can appear in either or both seasons.

• Season 1
      • Regions
        • Region 1
          • Resort A
            • Accommodation 1
          • Resort B
            • Accommodation 2
            • Accommodation 3
        • Region 2
          • Resort D
            • Accommodation 6
          • Resort E
            • Accommodation 8
    • Season 2
      • Regions
        • Region 1
          • Resort A
          • Resort B
            • Accommodation 3
          • Resort C
            • Accommodation 4
            • Accommodation 5
        • Region 2
          • Resort D
            • Accommodation 7
          • Resort E
            • Accommodation 8
            • Accommodation 9

In various content pages the editor requires a dropdown showing a list of the regions, resorts or accommodations. This only seems to be possible if I create a static list (prevalues), but as these lists change I'm reluctant to take this approach. I'd also like to be able to link the dropdowns so that if the editor selects Region 2 from the Region dropdown whilst editing a page in Season 1, a Resort dropdown will show Resorts D & E, and when Resort D is selected the Accommodation dropdown will show just Accommodation 6.

I know I'll have to create a custom editor, it is just how do I get the dynamic data from the db?